Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-02-2006, 02:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Deionized water ?

Can I use deionized water to start my salt water aquarium? I have deionized and RO water but the RO is very time consuming to get 150 gals.
What would the reason for not using deionized water be, if there is one?
__________________

__________________
Vette Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 02:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
Ideally, you want both RO and DI water.
__________________

__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 02:42 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryguy
Ideally, you want both RO and DI water.
I'm putting a 150 gal fish / reef aquarium with a 75 gal refugium below in the lobby of my shop.
I have a deionizing system for washing customers cars. I can get RO water from a source close by. I have no way to do both. Which would be better, or should I mix?
Thanks
__________________
Vette Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 03:01 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: vancouver island
Posts: 526
What I meant was a water produced by a RO/DI filter system.

something like this

You can then hook a float switch to the RO/DI to be placed in your sump/fuge that will keep you constantly topped off to counteract evaporation. Otherwise, you'll be adding water by hand every couple of days.

I think a RO/DI is a GREAT investment along with a good skimmer, as well
__________________
ryguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 04:03 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: VA
Posts: 3,391
Send a message via Yahoo to tecwzrd
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vette Pro
I have a deionizing system for washing customers cars.
You already essentially have a ro/di unit in your deionizing system. I assume you have that to keep spots off the cars

Have you ever tested your water with a TDS Meter?
__________________
-Micah-

If you haven't figured it out yet I like to BOLD links :P

Vote for AA at Aqua Rank
tecwzrd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2006, 06:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Poughkeepsie, NY
Posts: 3,294
have you tested for nitrates, phosphates, silicates.. these are important things to check for, your TDS may be low but you can still have high PO4..
__________________
9/02-125 REEF, 125 lbs LR,LS 4x160 VHO, Reef Devil /Sump, Fuge
7/03-55 FOWLR 60lb LR, 50 lb SD sand 2x40 NO strip light, Reef Devil/sump, Fuge

TANK PICS http://www.aquariumadvice.com/viewtopic.php?t=98202
seaham358 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2006, 01:19 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 3
Got a good skimmer.
I have the DI system at the shop to keep the spots off all those new Vettes.
It works great.
I just figured that it would be the fast way to fill the tank. The RO would take forever.
I'll get all the test kits I'll need and check it out this week.
I'll get the RO/DI setup after I get it up and running.
Thanks
__________________
Vette Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 12:27 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 272
Actually, a lot of pretty well known EXPERIENCED reefers (Anthony Calfo immediately comes to mind) prefer DI over RO due to not just time, but the incredible waste produced from RO water. It's somewhat like, 7 gallons waste water to 1 gallon useable water. I think it depends on your filtration which would be better for you, and also on your source water. If you only have a few contaminants, and you run a powerful skimmer and a true DSB (5 inches or deeper) then you can get away with DI water, no doubt. Thousands of commercial and private aquaculturists do exactly this. If however, you have a lot of heavy contaminants, RO/DI is the superior, if more costly and time consuming, way. And remember, your filtration is only as good as your filters. Gotta keep up on those resin changes!
__________________

__________________
Only thing more dangerous than a 2nd lieutenant saying "In my experience" is a warrant officer saying "Hey guys, check this out!"
zuzecawi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Exchanging tap water with deionized water Strumminthesix Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 3 06-07-2005 10:05 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.