Diatoms, go AWAY!!!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

dragonfisher33

Aquarium Advice Addict
i have a handed down tank that is already cycled. this past weekend when i left for a short vacay i accidentally had my power compact light fixture on the whole time. needless to say, by the time i came back my tank is filled with diatoms. is there a way to get rid of them naturally through some clean up crews? i'm aware that time will make it go away. also the fact that the diatoms are indications of phosphate and nitrate in water. i'm still a noob so i would like to hear all sides. i want it gone NOW!!!

ps. i came back around 1AM this morning and i will do a water change after getting off from work.

Attachments

• IMG698.jpg
    IMG698.jpg
    213.1 KB · Views: 209
so i have noticed that there's some sort of brown stuff on top of the sand. is it the byproduct of dead diatom? it's not that brown, only slightly brown-er compare to my white live sand

Its cyano!!! Use just your actinic lights more and you 10K less

It's definitely diatoms. They will eventually go away on their own. Every salt tank goes through various algae cycles. Just wait until you start seeing hair algae :)

Changing the spectrum of lighting won't do anything to combat either algae or cyano. Both are caused by excess nutrients in the tank.

It's definitely diatoms. They will eventually go away on their own. Every salt tank goes through various algae cycles. Just wait until you start seeing hair algae :)

Changing the spectrum of lighting won't do anything to combat either algae or cyano. Both are caused by excess nutrients in the tank.

actually, there's no nutrient in the tank. its a handed down tank already cycled with 2 hermit crabs. i barely feed them and when i do, i use a tweezer to hand feed them, so there shouldn't be excess nutrient