Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 04-25-2013, 11:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
Didn't rinse live sand

So, i brought some live sand from my LFS and i asked the man there if i have to rinse the sand, and he told me no. So i didn't rinse it. I put the sand in, put a dish and slowly poured the water in.

But the tank is really cloudy and there is some foam up at the water line =/ I ran out of distilled water to make more.

will it settle? is this okay? sorry i am a freshwater person and this is my first time trying anything saltie.

Oh this is not a full salt water tank, this is a brackish 1.011 specific gravity tank. Its suspose to be a semi ecosphere for hawaiian volcano shrimps opae ulae. I have live sand, live rock and a few lava rocks in this bowl.

aluka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2013, 11:43 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Yes it will settle takes a while do you have a extra filter? Was there a small pack of clarifier in the bag? Rinse the filter flood out once in awhile then replace it.

Daniel Fishy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 12:11 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
Let the sand settle, this is natural and rinsing the sand would have removed any of the BB if it was live. Give it a few days, patience is key in saltwater. Not even key, necessary to succeed.
Michaelbknudsen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2013, 02:16 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
So the sand has mostly settled. Sadly my shrimps has arrived so i had no choice but to add them to the tank. lol, but luckily they are opaes soooo i hope they will be fine

water parameters are holding steady. =<..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1277[1].jpg
Views:	78
Size:	207.7 KB
ID:	170105  
aluka is offline   Reply With Quote