differences between sw and fw

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

kathleen55

Aquarium Advice Freak
okay what are the main differences between sw and fw besides salt of course. any advice or tips help
here are a few questions:
- what is RO/DI
- what are sterilizers and what does it do?
- what do i need that i dont need in my fw aquarium besides salt?
- how many gallons should i start with?
- about how much will a saltwater aquarium cost (besides the fish)
i would love to have a saltwater aquarium in the future but am a complete newbie to saltwater sorry if i asked any ovious questions. thanks for all the help very appreciated! :)

RO/DI means reverse osmosis and deionized (water). This means everything was filtered out of the water leaving just the water and nothing else (it won't even conduct electricity). This is waht you want to top off evaporation and use to mix your saltwater (using a high quality salt). You want to start with water that is 0 total dissolved solids (TDS), this means there is nothing but water in it. This is what RO/DI is supposed to be (but isn't necessarily). For smaller tanks it may be easier or more cost effective to buy distilled water, which is also 0TDS. Either way investing in a TDS meter (I got mine for under $10 shipped on eBay) is a good idea to double check whatever water source you use.

A UV sterilizer is a type of filter that has a UVC bulb inside of a quartz (glass) tube. Water passes around this glass tube and is exposed to the UVC light. Depending on the flow rate through the UV sterilizer and the wattage (and quality) of the bulb different things will be killed. At a faster rate/lower wattage only algae is killed. At a slower rate and higher wattage other planktonic bacteria will be killed. At the slowest rate and highest wattage even parasites will be killed.