dilema here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

johnanthony74

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
ok here is the deal i have a 20 gallon freshwater sitting empty ( no fish anyways) water is cycled and done. i have a 55 gallon coming soon. My girlfriend loves the colours of the salties and loves the look of the salties. I am new at tanks and fish, should i try to do a saltwater tank??? if so what ddo i need to transfer this 20 gallon into one as i think that i don't want to do the 55 gall incase i fail or can't maintain it and don't want to loose the costs of the switch. what all would i bee looking at to change the 20 to a salty tank ... if at all i should...

A larger system would provide a bigger cushion form error that would wipe out your system... That is a decision you will have to make. You are going to need some salt (sold a LFS), a heater,lights, hydrometer (measures salinity), thermometer, Filter, sand and live rock. Eventually you might need a sump, powerheads, and a protein skimmer. If you get enough live rock and live sand it will cycle your tank for you (this is how I cycled mine). Then it turns into a waiting game (3-4 weeks for a full cycle). This is truly the hardest part. Your fish store might tell you to cycle with a fish but many people here are adamant against this, including myself. It is cruel to your fish, they likely WILL die and it is a waste of money.

There are a few different ways to cycle a tank though. Some people will use a piece of shrimp or pure ammonia from the hardware store to get the nitrites and nitrates where they need to be. I've never cycled like this though.