Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-22-2009, 06:08 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to bawel Send a message via Skype™ to bawel
I think you should top it off with freshwater and not another saltwater. I used to think that way, but after my research, I learnt you should top off with freshwater because when the water evaporates, the salt are still in the system. If you top it off with the saltwater, it will mess up the salinity.
__________________

__________________
Jenny-BaweL
~Reef Tank~
28GL BF, Hydor Koralia Nano PH, AquaClear 50 with LRR, 24" Nova Extreme T5HO, 20Lbs LS and 35Lbs LR
bawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:10 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by bawel View Post
I think you should top it off with freshwater and not another saltwater. I used to think that way, but after my research, I learnt you should top off with freshwater because when the water evaporates, the salt are still in the system. If you top it off with the saltwater, it will mess up the salinity.
Oh sorry.. The RO water the LFS sells does NOT have Salt added. It's just Water that they run through their own Ro/DI unit for people like me.

Do you use RO water on your setup?
__________________

__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:13 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to bawel Send a message via Skype™ to bawel
Huh? I don't think they charged $1 water without salt in it, because LFS usually sells saltwater so that you don't have to mix it on your own. I actually don't use RO on my setup, I just get that water from the LFS and I always go the same one to maintain the same salinity level and when my water evaporates, I put freshwater in it.
__________________
Jenny-BaweL
~Reef Tank~
28GL BF, Hydor Koralia Nano PH, AquaClear 50 with LRR, 24" Nova Extreme T5HO, 20Lbs LS and 35Lbs LR
bawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:20 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
I swear... It's just regualr Water that's been treated with their inhouse RO/DI unit. You still have to mix the water yourself.

They do also sell Saltwater, but it's not made there. It's prepackaged. I forget which company makes the one they sell.
__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:25 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
bawel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: West LA, CA
Posts: 423
Send a message via MSN to bawel Send a message via Skype™ to bawel
Wow, that's pretty hefty charged per gallon for water that you have to mix yourself. Okay, yeah in this case it's better for you to have your own RO/DI unit then.
__________________
Jenny-BaweL
~Reef Tank~
28GL BF, Hydor Koralia Nano PH, AquaClear 50 with LRR, 24" Nova Extreme T5HO, 20Lbs LS and 35Lbs LR
bawel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:45 PM   #16
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
Reason I asked is tap water has plenty of silicates in it. Might be why you are experiencing heavy diatoms. Read this

Chemistry and the Aquarium
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 08:31 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Lmg108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California, KY
Posts: 36
Ha, I am going threw the same exact thing with mine!! Literally, looks just like that. It started a little over a week ago and just yesterday is the first sign I have seen that it is going away...I am waiting to add my inverts until it is gone!
__________________
Lmg108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 10:07 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lmg108 View Post
Ha, I am going threw the same exact thing with mine!! Literally, looks just like that. It started a little over a week ago and just yesterday is the first sign I have seen that it is going away...I am waiting to add my inverts until it is gone!
Good to know I'm not alone..

Why wait to add the inverts?? Won't they assist in your cleanup? I was thinking of adding more snails this weekend to help out. I have 1 snail on my LR, the other 5 are on the glass. The one on the rock is working the base rock right on the bottom center. Pretty cool watching him clean it up. You can see where he's been as the rock has a bunch of clean spots now.
__________________
goisles1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 12:21 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Lmg108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California, KY
Posts: 36
My dealer told me to wait to add them, said it wasnt ready for it yet that he was waiting for the sign that it had fully finished cycling...this is that sign I guess. Update on it BTW, as of this morning its almost completly off my sand. think i will just vac the rest of it out.


*note* My water checks are great....0 ammonia, 0 nitrate, 0 nitrite and 8.2 PH
__________________
Lmg108 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 12:48 PM   #20
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
For your clean up crew you have to wait for your ammonia and nitrites to be at 0 and then you have to do about a 33% give or take PWC to lower your nitrates. All three of those can harm your clean up crew. Nitrates in high volume and ammonia and nitrites in any amount will be harmful.
__________________

__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.