Diy led lights for reef tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bkmrsteel

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I have been doing computer work for a lfs. The shop owner is trading me a tank setup for the work done, and comes with everything but the lights.

I had seen some posts before on this, and being a computer tech I have know how, but what sort of cost really is involved in this? Also, what would be a good amount of leds for a reef tank?

I also need a small light for the plants that will live in the sump tank.

Ps. The tank is a 75 gal with stand and top. Comes with a sump tank filter, overflow box, return pump, protean skimmer, live sand, and I'm sure I'm forgetting something more. I'm excited!

It depends if it's a reef tank or not. If it is, it depends what corals your going to keep. For the refugium light, just get one of those clip on lights a home depot. They actually work great.

He has told me hill work with me to build corral in it. Showed me a "sea apple" he was excited about. Thing was cool, about the size if a soft ball all closed up

Do not get a sea apple. If they die (which they almost always do) they actually wipe out your whole tank. What do you mean build coral?

I agree with Crister, sea apples are beautiful, but can be deadly to ALL its tank mates! Best left at the LFS, to die in their tank.

crister13 said:
Do not get a sea apple. If they die (which they almost always do) they actually wipe out your whole tank. What do you mean build coral?

Not build, but grow. I know almost nothing about salt water and want to start slow and grow stuff.

so with a no on the sea apple, I would still love some advice ideas for lights.

Thanks all

As far as LED lighting for a 75g, the range of price is pretty large. The lower end of the spectrum, would be Taotronics 120w dimmables. You would need 2 units for about $200 a piece.