Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2004, 09:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tampa Bay Area
Posts: 43
Do I have to deionize water?

Hello everyone,

I'd like to get the water and everything setup after I get the tank tomorrow.

I was just wondering if you have to use a reverse osmosis system? I really didn't want to plunk down the $150 on a filter, if possible.

Can I just use filtered tap water? What are the benefits?

Advice needed!
__________________

__________________
MrFLGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 11:03 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
RO/DI water is basically 99.997% pure water. The advantages include no nutrients to promote algae blooms, no need for dechlorination, and just general tank health. It's not recommended to use tap, but it's not absolutely against the rules. I would say that if you are going to have a FO tank it would be less inadvisable than if you have a reef tank. Reef tanks really shouldn't use tap.

As far as the filter goes, you don't have to have one. Most LFS's will sell you RO/DI water for $0.30 to $0.50 per gallon. I purchase my RO/DI water from a drinking water store nearby that sells for $0.30 a gallon, and it works out excellently for me.
__________________

__________________
- Gauge

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars
Gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 11:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tampa Bay Area
Posts: 43
Thanks!

My main concern is with the intial fill up. Its a 150 gallon tank and I can't see my self bringing home 150 jugs of water.

Any other alternatives
__________________
MrFLGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 11:33 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Dallas, TX, USA
Posts: 507
Send a message via ICQ to Gauge Send a message via Yahoo to Gauge
If I were in your situation and I didn't want to buy a RO/DI filter, I would fill the tank with tap water and get it started. Then, I would make all my water changes with RO/DI after that. I can't think of any alternatives at the moment.
__________________
- Gauge

92-gallon corner tank, 100lbs of LR, 140lbs of sand, 250watt 10,000K MH, 110watts of actinic PCs, Mag 7 return, custom refugium, AquaC EV180 w/ Mag 5

Female lyretail anthias, eyelash blenny, tomato clown, saddleback clown, firefish goby, 2 sand-sifting stars
Gauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 12:46 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tampa Bay Area
Posts: 43
Does anyone know if a LFS will rent a reverse osmosis system?
__________________
MrFLGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 02:58 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Beacon, New York
Posts: 1,386
For the amount of water you will be needing for starting the tank and then your water changes after it cycles, you will be better off doing as Guage suggested, and use tap in the beginning. While your tank is cycling, you have about 6 weeks to squirrel away the money for an RO/DI. Check out some of the AA sponsors for a system. I personally use and recommend a Typhoon system from Airwaterice.com.
__________________
Bill The Cat For President!
stresco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2004, 11:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Lake Crystal Minnesota
Posts: 388
I would have to disagree with you two on using tap water at first. It would take so many water changes to get it the way you want it that it would be worth it to wait and get the RO/DI unit first. I had a friend that had to drain a 600 gallon tank that had used tap water which we replaced with RO/DI water because of algae issues. Just not worth the headache I think unless you like algae 8O . Just my opinion.

JOSH
__________________

__________________
Joshsmit56001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Distilled Water + Tap Water for Bolivian Rams Breeding? BolivianRams Freshwater & Brackish - Breeding 27 08-26-2009 10:56 AM
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.