Do I need a nitrate filter???

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

deanp88

Aquarium Advice Regular
I am new to salt tanks. I have started a 125 gallon fish/partial reef tank and have brown algae. I know vendors will say that I need a nitrate filter but do I really? Is it worth it for what they cost? Does it cut down on water changes that much and does it help to control the algae?

I don't think you need one. Personally... I don't think anyone needs one if you maintain sane stocking levels and keep up with your maintenance. Water changes are doing more than just diluting nitrates - they're also replenishing elements in the water that are being consumed by corals in your tank. You want to do regular water changes, even if you nitrates are at zero.

Keeping your nitrates low does help reduce algae, but with good maintenance habits, you can do it without fancy reactors/filters.

I agree totally with Kurt. Maintenace and stock management will keep nitrates in check at 0 to very low levels.
PS: what do you mean by partial reef? ;)

What I mean by partial reef is I have maybe 50 pounds of rock in a 125 gallon tank. I think my algae may be because I have been usiing tap water. Do I need to get a RO/DI unit? Do most guys use one of these?

The RO/DI will help by removing the phosphates and nitrates from the tapwater, as well as any metals, etc.

Your live rock would be your "nitrate filter". And your sump/refuge with macro algae, if you have one.