Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-03-2009, 11:47 PM   #11
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
That would work.
__________________

__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 11:51 PM   #12
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
Yeah, that's what most people do anyways. Keep a separate filter running on the main tank for a QT tank. Life is just easier when you are prepared for the worst right? :p
__________________

__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 11:52 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jessicasmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MCRD PI, SC
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
I work for an ISP, sometimes more equipment adds more points of failure....
good point
__________________
-Zack
I blame Craig AND his stupid List.
jessicasmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 12:17 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pleasanton CA
Posts: 625
Send a message via AIM to match55 Send a message via MSN to match55 Send a message via Yahoo to match55
agree!
__________________
Thanks to AMD, HN1, Zero, partypalooza, thincat, and thominil who helped me in almost every questions. Thanks everyone!!!!!
46gal Reef
match55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 09:37 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks!
__________________
DMac
roswell630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 06:00 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
So just to be clear if i run a HOB filter on my sump and have like a 20G QT tank all I have to do is fill the QT tank with premixed salt RO water and put the filter on then add fish?
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 06:20 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Yes and no. Yes, if the filter has media that hosts the beneficial bacteria.
No (possibly) if you add more fish than the beneficial bacteria (biofilter) can handle. For example, if you add one or maybe two small fish (depending on the fish) you should be ok (also depending on how much media you have in the filter). If you add a lot of fish, the bio filter may not be enough to convert the ammonia to nitrItes to nitrAtes.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 07:41 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
So what is a good way to have a QT tank ready? Just have it run all the time? I dont like that idea...
__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 07:42 PM   #19
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
No, you are on the right track. Just don't add a bunch of fish at the same time.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 07:48 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
h8z2luze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Nor*Cal
Posts: 1,405
Send a message via AIM to h8z2luze Send a message via MSN to h8z2luze Send a message via Yahoo to h8z2luze
Gotcha. Cool thanks.
__________________

__________________
h8z2luze is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sump filter rob_mango General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 1 03-18-2009 06:43 PM
Anyone use the MegaFlow Sump Filter? Todd Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 2 07-29-2006 11:38 PM
physical filter on sump? zenn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 08-31-2005 09:07 PM
hob filter on a sump? guitarded Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 12-15-2004 11:27 AM
Filter as a sump ConanTheLibraia Saltwater Reef Aquaria 3 06-28-2003 08:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:48 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.