Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-17-2005, 02:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: So-Cal
Posts: 640
During tank maintainence, does one vacuum the sand as well?

In my cichlid tank, gravel vacuuming is a must. They're dirty fellows. Do you do the same thing in a SW tank? TIA
__________________

__________________
runway1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 02:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Maryland
Posts: 125
Depends on the tank set up...FOWLR and so on...also the substrate type and depth has a factor as well. Many Reef keepers have a 3-5" sand substrate that they don't vaccuum...they lightly go over the topso as to not disturb the bacteria in the sand bed much. CC substrates are a little different since they can harbor bad bacteria therefore some find it preferable to vaccuum those.
__________________

__________________
My current project underway
180 SW
2 overflows wet/dry ETSS skimmer Mag18 pump 2 Stealth Titanium heaters
Dog Face Puffer
Bamboo Cat Shark
Foxface Lo
Volitan Lion
and the almighty domino Damsel
the21kid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 03:04 PM   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
Nope, I let the clean up crew take care of that.
__________________
Bearfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2005, 03:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 5,832
Send a message via Yahoo to quarryshark
I may move the very top layer around a bit, but I don't vacuum it.
__________________
quarryshark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 12:39 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: virginia
Posts: 3
this might b a stupid question but do u use an underwater filter set up if your useing sand as the substrate
__________________
banks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 12:07 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Banks, do you mean 'undergravel filter'? If so, no...those don't work well with sand because the sand is too compact to let much water flow through, and it falls through the cracks in the filter plate.
UGF's are pretty much on the outs with SW keepers...and even in FW they aren't all that popular. Too much maintenance to have to clean the plate every 6-12 months, especially since they aren't a superiour type of filtration. Yes they work, but they are becoming somewhat obsolete due to the efficiency and reduced price of canisters and good HOB's.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2005, 12:17 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: virginia
Posts: 3
yeah undergravel filter is what i meant and thanks for answering my ?
__________________
banks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2005, 06:33 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Long beach
Posts: 203
Send a message via AIM to xahx
i use minimal gravel, not LS. A lotta junk does collect down there and the critters around the bottom dont take care of that, they only clean up the left over food n such. I try to use minimal sand and when i do a water change, i try to suck up around the rocks, so cloudy waste looking stuff is cleaned out. I also rinse the gravel well after i remove it from the tank (warm then cold rinse). (ay man! im learning from the guy at the fish store, cant be wrong!)
__________________

__________________
xahx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maintain, sand, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Siphon Vacuum with sand base? JeridJohnson Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 12-21-2005 10:26 PM
should I vacuum sand huey112 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 04-07-2005 01:57 PM
Vacuum sand? dwculp Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 09-22-2004 11:58 AM
sand vacuum? Mephistopheles Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 05-07-2004 11:17 AM
need some tank maintainence help? newcomer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 09-30-2003 06:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.