Eclipse tank cross over

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BirdMan

Aquarium Advice Newbie
Hey there guys, newbie here in need of some advice with my current set up. I have a 25 Eclipse System 3 three Aquarium that I'm currently wanting to convert over to saltwater. The tank used to be a planted south american freshwater community tank but I'm getting ready to move and since they tank has to be drained and essentially started over, I figured it would present the perfect oppurtunity to go ahead and make the change. I've managed many tanks before in varying sizes with everything in the freshwater realm from african cichlids to german rams. Saltwater presents a new challenge for me and since I'm an avid scuba diver and an environmental studies major, its definitely something I'd liek to try. I'm starting all over from scratch here and I would sincerely appreciate the advice on what I'll need to purchase (especially with lighting!) and what species to go with in the tank. Here's what I'm working with:

*25 gallon Aquarium with Eclipse System 3 hood and filtration system
*Interpet Triton and ZooMed FloraSun Bulbs (I'll probably need to change these)
*AA Aquatics in-tank UV Sterilizer
*Hydor Automatic Heater
*LED Moonlighting System (purely ornamental of course)

Well, what exactly do you want to do with the tank? Fish only? Fish only with live rock? Reef?

If you want to go reef, you should really consider a major lighting upgrade (they sell retorfit kits made just for Eclipse systems) some extra powerheads, and a skimmer.

Welcome to the SW side. Ds is right, it will all depend on what you want to do with the tank.
One suggestion, if you used copper in that FW tank, you will be limiting your inverts......