Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-07-2009, 08:52 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Charlton, MA
Posts: 544
I would suggest opening the drain trap and getting it out. Aswell as getting into the chat room. And by tomorrow your rock will be quite dead.
__________________

__________________
AMDPhenomX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 09:27 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
prissysmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 69
My dad is on his way to help me dget it out of the drain. The pipes are really rusted and stuck.


How long do I have till my rock is dead? Can I recure it and somethings will survive or do I have to throw it all out?


Could I use distilled water if the grocery store has it?
__________________

__________________
Lucy
75g-FOWLR

prissysmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2009, 11:35 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Ok... first thing - RO/DI units don't produce water on demand, so even if you got it up and running right_this_minute it's not going to do your rock any good. So no need to stress about the immediate need for the RO/DI unit - if you didn't have the saltwater ready when you got the rock, you were too late to start with.

The rock isn't junk. If you keep it wrapped up in saltwater soaked towels, a fair amount of bacteria should stay alive for 12-18 hours at least. You may have a little ammonia spike when it finally goes in the water, but probably not much.

If you let the rock dry out, or put fresh/tap water on it, then your bacteria will die off. But it's still not junk... you'll just have to cure it a little. If there's nothing in your tank, you can do that in the tank when you get it filled. I'm guessing that's the case because if you don't have saltwater around, I'm thinking you have an empty tank.

Yeah... you can use distilled water from the store to mix up your salt. You could use tap too in a pinch, just make sure you add a dechlorinator to the tap water per the instructions.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 12:04 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
BigMike75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Knox, KY
Posts: 89
Use a small pair of pliers to turn the flush value on and off, till you get a new one.
__________________
BigMike75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 12:56 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
prissysmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 69
update,

My dad came down but the RO unit worked but we could not if the water was being filtered or not. Dad said it smelled like chlorine.

So first thing in the morning I will buy SW from the LFS. The rocks have dried out so I will have to do a full cycle and hope for the best.

I will call the manufacturer as well and see if the unit can be saved.
I should have had my water ready first. I thought (wrongly) that I could do it at the same time. Hard lesson learned but I won't give up.

Going to sleep now. I'm wiped out!
__________________
Lucy
75g-FOWLR

prissysmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 01:10 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
BigMike75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Fort Knox, KY
Posts: 89
Hang in there and good luck.
__________________
BigMike75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2009, 01:14 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
fishmonkey's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Posts: 1,207
yeah, if you have a protien skimmer, then recuring it will be...well not easy, but not difficult either. do you have one?
__________________
fishmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 04:29 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 787
Or.....you could mix up a small batch of saltwater using the tapwater and put the rock in that. Better than leaving it dry out.
__________________
Jaybird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2009, 05:58 PM   #19
Thanx but no.....


 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,333
If curing the rock in a tub i always just use tap. I let it cure out, when it's cured I make a small batch of RO saltwater to rinse.. then plop in the main.

Not a big fan of curing in the main display. I figure why would I go to the expense, hassle, time of putting 0 tds water in the display and then put rock in there w/ the intention of creating massive amounts of nitrates.

Same thing if you need somewhere to house the rock... reg tap, rinse w/ RO-salt before introduction.
__________________

__________________
CaptainAhab is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ro/di, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Temp Dropped to 66 dsmlrussell Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 01-06-2010 04:02 AM
kH dropped like a rock and the pH followed xyyz Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 53 06-11-2008 09:08 PM
My pH dropped.... LynnCeeBee Nano Reefs 10 01-31-2008 12:14 AM
update: emergency emergency clown loach is stuck in wood tropicfishman Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 12-01-2006 12:49 PM
ph dropped to 8.0 kimberly Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 06-12-2005 10:13 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.