Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-18-2011, 07:29 PM   #111
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Trout11B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 447
Because if you never saw an ammonia spike, you wouldn't see nitrites, which wouldn't lead to nitrates, the beneficial bacterias that consume the ammonia. So, essentially if you didn't see these your tank isn't cycled. Is what is trying to be said I believe.
__________________

__________________
Trout11B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 07:31 PM   #112
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Epuerto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hernando beach fl.
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trout11B View Post
Because if you never saw an ammonia spike, you wouldn't see nitrites, which wouldn't lead to nitrates, the beneficial bacterias that consume the ammonia. So, essentially if you didn't see these your tank isn't cycled. Is what is trying to be said I believe.
the thing is i saw the nitrites a few days ago with no nitrates, my strips didnt have an ammonia tester i have live rock from before in there 2
__________________

__________________
(this is my sig because i love that it was a option XD )
Epuerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 07:35 PM   #113
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
Yeah that's where I was heading with this. When my tank was cycling I had nitrites before ammonia but I used tap water and I'm sure I was picking up the elements in that! If your not in a rush I would ensure a cycle!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 07:36 PM   #114
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Epuerto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hernando beach fl.
Posts: 544
I am trying to take it slow but im confused... i dont want to rush thing AT ALL
i wana make sure i do it right lol
__________________
(this is my sig because i love that it was a option XD )
Epuerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 07:41 PM   #115
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
Well again, I'm no pro but I just don't know why your water would be reading that unless it hasn't really cycled. Hopefully someone with knowledge of this will chime in!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 07:44 PM   #116
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Epuerto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hernando beach fl.
Posts: 544
lol right we must alert the authorities!!!!!!
SCREAM REALLY LOUD UNTIL THEY COME AAAAAGGGGGGHHHHHHH!
lol didnt work
__________________
(this is my sig because i love that it was a option XD )
Epuerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 07:45 PM   #117
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Epuerto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hernando beach fl.
Posts: 544
Btw i was looking at the big al's website because of the add at the top of the page they got hydor korlias for 35 bucks... the 1050 one
__________________
(this is my sig because i love that it was a option XD )
Epuerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:27 PM   #118
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Trout11B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 447
You might be getting false nitrate readings. Keep checking for a while just to be sure. When I was cycling my tank I would get nitrate readings in the first few days. Someone explained about false nitrates from API test kits. This might explain your nitrate readings..
__________________
Trout11B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:34 PM   #119
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Epuerto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hernando beach fl.
Posts: 544
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trout11B View Post
You might be getting false nitrate readings. Keep checking for a while just to be sure. When I was cycling my tank I would get nitrate readings in the first few days. Someone explained about false nitrates from API test kits. This might explain your nitrate readings..
ok
__________________
(this is my sig because i love that it was a option XD )
Epuerto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2011, 08:52 PM   #120
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
XxVooDooxX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Carson City Nevada
Posts: 829
Yeah but no ammonia spike? How long was your tank cycling before you tested it?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium
__________________

__________________
XxVooDooxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
55 gallon, build, build thread, corner

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
55g Tanganyika Build mfdrookie516 Cichlid Discussion 26 01-27-2010 12:03 AM
My first 55G FOWLR BUILD dhemp34 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 46 11-27-2009 12:25 AM
55g sump build mfdrookie516 DIY Projects 1 10-11-2009 03:40 AM
Bloke's 36g Corner Build Bloke Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 15 03-05-2008 09:31 AM
DIY Corner Tank Build.... Need Suggestions. Verbalkint DIY Projects 28 02-10-2005 11:47 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.