Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-23-2010, 10:49 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: nashville,tn
Posts: 38
Send a message via Yahoo to tryin2make63
established tank high nitrates and ?'s

okay i have had my tank up for well over a year. i originally bought 25lbd live rock and placed another 20 in that was lace rock. all of it now has coraling growing on it one place or another. i have 90 lbs black live sand and 3 fish. it is 58gal with a sump that was custom made by me. the sump has bio balls, sand for an refuge.i also added a purple,pink zoa last week.

here are my questions.....

1. how long does it take for a regular rock placed in an tank to be concidered a "live rock"

2. i have absolutely 0 nitrites and always have high nitrates. y. i do weekly water changes and it spikes back up within days. I DO NOT OVERFEED. please help.

3. i have a really wierd snail that i believe came out of my liverock. it has a flatsoft shell. any clue of name?
__________________

__________________
to love and to have lost, is better than to never have loved at all!
tryin2make63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2010, 11:20 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 212
I'm not sure about your nitrates, but I might be able to help you with your snail ID. Look up stomatella. If you have these, I believe they are beneficial. I have a bunch of them in my tank and they seem to only eat algae.
__________________

__________________
yohann976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 12:05 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: nashville,tn
Posts: 38
Send a message via Yahoo to tryin2make63
ill check that out. thx i heard that my bio balls may be keeping my nitrates up. ill try to get some pics up
__________________
to love and to have lost, is better than to never have loved at all!
tryin2make63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 12:11 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
I believe that your bio-balls are a major part of your high nitrates. I would slowly remove them.
LR means that the rock has live bacteria in it. The extent of the bacteria is in proportion to how porous your rock is and the length of time it's been in your DT.
__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 12:25 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: nashville,tn
Posts: 38
Send a message via Yahoo to tryin2make63
the rock that i used as base was lace rock. dont know a lot about it. what type of rock is recommended to add. the rock has been in my tank every since i cycled it... over 16 months
__________________
to love and to have lost, is better than to never have loved at all!
tryin2make63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 01:54 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
After 16 months, all your rock and sand are now "live". As thincat mentioned, it just means it is populated with bacteria that convert ammonia to nitrite, and nitrite to nitrate.

Which also answers the question of why you don't see any nitrites - you obviously have enough bacteria to convert the nitrites to nitrates quick enough that you can't see any.

Regarding your nitrates... what kind of water are you using for your water changes and top offs? Tap water? RO/DI water? Have you tested your newly made salt water for nitrates? If you're using tap water, the nitrates could be coming in with every water change.

When you say "high" nitrates, what kind of levels are we talking about? 5 ppm? 20 ppm? 100 ppm?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 07:14 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: nashville,tn
Posts: 38
Send a message via Yahoo to tryin2make63
talking it has been a long long time since i have seen below 20. testing my water now... get back to you in a sec on that
__________________
to love and to have lost, is better than to never have loved at all!
tryin2make63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 07:23 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: nashville,tn
Posts: 38
Send a message via Yahoo to tryin2make63
0ppm in my pwc
__________________
to love and to have lost, is better than to never have loved at all!
tryin2make63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 09:01 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Just like Kurt mention are you using Tap water? If not how deep is your Sand Bed?
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 09:19 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: nashville,tn
Posts: 38
Send a message via Yahoo to tryin2make63
yes tap water but like i said i already tested. it.it has 0 ppm. am i missing the whole concept behind the water? sand bed is 2"
__________________

__________________
to love and to have lost, is better than to never have loved at all!
tryin2make63 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
established tank, high nitrate, high nitrates, nitrates, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No nitrates in established tank? dvanv Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 5 06-04-2007 01:29 PM
cycling my tank, how high is too high for nitrates? boojumsnark25 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 01-26-2007 10:02 AM
New QT tank w/ high nitrates BDAWG Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 02-17-2005 03:34 PM
Nitrates too high in a planted tank jibboo Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 16 12-30-2004 12:01 AM
established tank w/ very high ammonia bugabugabuga Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 08-21-2004 03:26 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.