Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-24-2007, 04:18 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 164
Send a message via MSN to pph_2ppr
exaporated water

i have Ro/Di water but its not produced fast enough to keep up with exaporation ( i might need to get new filters) so can a person use tap water, evaporate it and use what is collected for an aquarium?
__________________

__________________
pph_2ppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 04:42 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Are you talking about distilling water? I'm not sure exactly how you would do that, or if it would work or be worth the trouble(for some reason I think someone else posted about this before and was told it would not work- try a search). If you you need new filters get them ASAP before the RO membrane is damged. A few things will affect the output of an RO unit. Water temperature, water pressure, as well as the TDS of the tap water. If your tap water is too cold there is a method to warm it using a bucket of warm water and 20 feet or so of tubing from the input wrapped in and submerged in the bucket.
__________________

__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 05:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 164
Send a message via MSN to pph_2ppr
i mean can you put water in a bowl, evaporate it, and put plastic over it to collect the water. I have done this before but not for aquariums, thats y i am wondering..
__________________
pph_2ppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 06:44 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 48
im not really sure on this whole RO/DI water to begin with. ive always just used tap,every1 i know has used tap,my LFS used tap on everything until about a year ago. they only switched to using a RO/DI unit because people kept asking them about it.

does RO/DI help?i guess. necessary?no. i would rather spend 100$ on sumthing else.
__________________
atomicbiscut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 07:31 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
Quote:
Originally Posted by atomicbiscuit
does RO/DI help?i guess. necessary?no.
It's totally dependent on your tap water. If it's high in NO3, or PO4, for example, you will need an RO or RO/DI(for reefs at least- delicate animals, and the high light drives algae outbreaks). Some can get by w/out one, and for some it's as necessary as any other filter
__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2007, 09:54 PM   #6
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
I totally agree with MT79, the $100 you save on not buying a RO/DI unit can really impact the health of your system. A build up of PO4 and NO3 can cause such a mess in a tank. I thought the same thing before I started out in this...then I did my research and priced the stuff I wanted in my tank and realized that $100 filter was worth every penny!
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2007, 11:43 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 164
Send a message via MSN to pph_2ppr
ive looked further into this and havent found out nething! my Ro/DI unit isn't making that much water AT ALL so i am not interested in buying a replacement. if i evoporate the water by boiling it it will be the purest form of water there is. I will get new filters and see if that works, but until then could i do what i described. am i making sence?
__________________
pph_2ppr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 11:50 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
You say that your RO/DI unit is not making "much" water. How much exactly, is much? Are you sure it's hooked up correctly and operating correctly? As someone noted earlier, is it just old membranes? It doesn't make much sense to buy a unit and then toss it if it's just an issue of it not being hooked up correctly.

You can't use an RO/DI unit like a tap... unless you have a storage tank. We're talking "gallons per day" for RO/DI units. Seems like most do at least 50-100 gallons/day and that seems like it'd be enough to deal with top off issues.

As far as making your own distilled water, I suppose you could. They actually make small distillation units for the home - my mother-in-law has one for drinking water. Don't remember what it cost her, but they're not cheap. I'm sure an RO unit is cheaper. As far as boiling off water yourself and catching the condensate, I think you're looking at a much slower process than RO, not to mention all the electricity or gas you're going to pump into your stove to boil a ton of water! How about just buying distilled water in those 5-gallon containers at the supermarket? Seems like a lot less of a hassle, and not as likely to burn down your place from leaving a stove on all the time!
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 03:14 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
There are a few things that effect how well your RO/DI unit performs. How cold the water is that is going into the unit and how much water pressure is going into it. Are you on a well or city water?
__________________
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2007, 07:50 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: philadelphia. PA.
Posts: 2,679
As I said in my previous post, I'm pretty sure, even if you could somehow collect enough condensation/water to fill your needs, it still would not be that useful. For some reason, I don't think distilling water like that will remove everything(or something like that). But I can't remember exactly what/why. If I can find the post I'll link it. You should be able to just rebuild the RO unit w/ new filters, and a membrane , if necessary, to achieve it's rated performance. FWIW a 24gpd is able to keep up w/ my needs on a 55 gal w/ MH lighting. I Fill a trash can w/ RO once a week for top-offs and fresh SW.
__________________

__________________
Mike
MT79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bacteria bloom (white cloudy water) in water change tub? 20 20 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 01-16-2006 02:44 PM
Max Time Keeping Marine Water in Water/Air Tight Drums flanque General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-28-2005 03:25 AM
Brita filtered water: Ph 7, softens water, remove bad stuff Blucat Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 03-21-2005 10:12 PM
QT water, should I use fresh slat water or old tank water? MadManMac Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 12-27-2004 09:13 PM
Quick question on water clarity with salt water tanks ... jen-213 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 06-02-2003 11:08 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.