Feather duster? Can i?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Bloomk

Aquarium Advice Freak
Have a 90 gallon that has been set up for about 2-3 months. I have 2 clown fish, 2 fire fish, diamond watchman goby, royal gramma and a lamarcks angelfish, 2 peppermint shrimp, 2 cleaner shrimp, a coral banded shrimp, and misc snails/crabs.

0 ammonia, 0 nitrite, 0 nitrate. I have a sump with Live rock and macro Algae.

The tank has about 100 lbs or more of live rock.

With that out of the way, I don't have very good lighting but want something new. I was thinking feather duster. Any suggestions?

I don't see why not but I am no expert. My duster just recently died. Not sure why and I have not checked my water yet. I think it's because I relocated it to the top of the tank. It was doing just fine at the bottom on the sand.

I don't see why not.... I believe dusters are filter feeders anyways so the lighting may be moot. :)

Yea but does the tank need to be well "established"?

Established tanks mean no phosphates nitrates, no fluctuation in parameters. You are fine to put a feather duster in, if I were you I would get a few of them since they normally are Cheep.

What about food for them? I read that they need plankton and I don't think I have any in my tank

I've had a feather duster for almost a year now and I don't add anything to my water.

Sergie said:
I've had a feather duster for almost a year now and I don't add anything to my water.

How old was your tank when u got him?

Sergie said:

Your tank would be creating phytoplankton after a year,so you wouldn't need to supplement.In fairly new tanks ,depending on what type food is being used,some supplementing would be beneficial.

Supplement with what? How do I speed up the plankton?

Currently I feed twice a day. Once with a cube of frozen brine shrimp, once with marine flake and marine pellets.