Filling Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LIMentality420

Aquarium Advice Regular
Is it ok that i'm mixing the water and salt in 25 gallon rubbermaid tubs first to disolve the salt and get salinety levels correct then add it to my 55 gallon with sand already in it ? I also have heaters in them to heat water to 80 degrees. I'm doing this so my tank isn't cloudy when I add the water into it. I'm gonna put a large plate on top of the sand when I add the water so it doesn't get too stirred up.

When i added my water around three weeks ago it was cloudy for a couple days. i think it would be cloudy regardless. You are probably gonna want to rinse your sand good to get all the dust out, this should cut down on the cloudiness. Im guessing this is your initial set up, so i dont think you need to heat the water before adding to your tank, IMO and i am new to the hobby as well, i would add it to tank first, and get a couple of powerheads going to help dissolve the salt. Best of luck.

Your making double work and will take longer to fill the tank. mix it in tank since your just starting. Your going to get cloudy water from the sand not the salt, the plate will help.
If your using tap water to fill the tank, I would use a hose and fill it with cold water(hot water will have absorbed more metals and ions). Let the water run a few minutes to flush the pipes then fill tank. Add the salt to the tank and run the powerheads to get the water mixed. What will take you hours to do, will be done in minutes and less likely to spill.
If your using RO or RO/DI I would still fill the tank then add salt
Also you only have to heat the water into the 70's, save electricity let it warm to room temp before you turn on heater.