Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-19-2012, 04:34 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brandonjkoontz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: woodbine maryland
Posts: 88
Alright thanks. You used regular filter cartrages at the end? And just glass sheets to seperat the tank? My dt is a 30 gallon so I think I'm going to go with the 10 g for this. Any recomendations on skimmer type or size? I don't have one yet and iv seen so many diffrent kinds I'm not sure what I should get.
__________________

__________________
Brandonjkoontz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 04:43 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
I just got marine land rite size bonded filter pads you cut it to the size you want and its cheap it's blue and white and yes I used glass from a old glass top of a 10 gal fish tank u may be able to go to a hardware store and find something cheaper hard plastic anything like that will work and then get silicone from a fish store and on a skimmer note I don't know I'm not using one right now I don't know if it's really worth it I made room for one in case I do I have to do more research on them because they r really expensive and if I do get one I want a good one I hear many different things about many different ones
__________________

__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 04:40 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brandonjkoontz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: woodbine maryland
Posts: 88
Drilling the tank for the ovetflow and return, does it matter where the holes are in terms of top or bottom of tank?
__________________
Brandonjkoontz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 04:56 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Yes, also depends on your overflow box. I would do some google searches with some pics to get an idea. Also you can youtube sumps/overflows and glass tank drilling as well. Should get alot of useful hits.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 05:53 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brandonjkoontz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: woodbine maryland
Posts: 88
A lot of people have told me that I shouldn't do a box. So I wad thinking about just running pipes from the bulkhead to the sump and do the overflow in that. I tried google but almost everything ov see has had boxes so I'm not really sure what to do.
__________________
Brandonjkoontz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:27 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
I would use overflow box. Not sure why someone would tell you different.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 06:32 PM   #27
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Portland or
Posts: 261
Because some fish store when they drill holes the don't use them anymore fish store Here have them go straight to the sump or fuge
__________________
J33ps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:04 PM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
Id order the parts and do it yourself. Much cheaper. You need an overflow
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 10:27 PM   #29
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brandonjkoontz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: woodbine maryland
Posts: 88
Alright so the boxs hangs on thr back if the dt and the I run tubing to the sump right?
__________________
Brandonjkoontz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 11:05 PM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
No they do not hang. They are siliconed in place with aquarium grade silicone. A bulkhead inside the overflow with plumbing inside the overflow and plumbing down to the sump. Do some google searchs. Hang on the back overflows are the ones that have problems
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.