Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-18-2012, 03:42 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brandonjkoontz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: woodbine maryland
Posts: 88
filters?

Starting me second tank. 30 gallon tall. My other 30 gallon has 2 penguin 350 bio wheel power filters. I started that tank with damsels so I want to do somthing where my stock wont be so limited. Its also a fowlr so I don't have a skimmer on it. This new tank I'm ganna try and do a reef tank so does anyone have suggestions on filtration system?
__________________

__________________
Brandonjkoontz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 04:04 PM   #2
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
Maybe a 10 gallon sump/refugium?
__________________

spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 04:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Hondatek's Avatar



POTM Champion
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Virginia Beach
Posts: 3,969
Algae turf scrubber.
__________________
Feed your Filtration
Give it to Porc Chop he'll eat anything!!!!!
"This is my tank and these other fish just live in it"
^ Quoted from Porc Chop^
Hondatek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 04:36 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brandonjkoontz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: woodbine maryland
Posts: 88
I'm pretty new to the hobby. Iv looked into sumps but I still don't really understand what exactlly goes into one or how it works. Can you shed some light on the subject for me? Id really appreciate it. Iv tried looking it up but every time I find somthing about them it ends up just being for sale with little to no info on the system itself.
__________________
Brandonjkoontz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 05:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Grizz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Saratoga NY
Posts: 1,806
Sumps Explained
__________________
Most people create their own problems by not following the basics and refusing to stock appropriate to their system. Gregcoyote 2013

SPS = Stability Promotes Success
Grizz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2012, 08:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brandonjkoontz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: woodbine maryland
Posts: 88
Thank you. So helpful. Ill deff be doing one on my new tank.
__________________
Brandonjkoontz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 01:37 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brandonjkoontz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: woodbine maryland
Posts: 88
So iv been trying to figure out how I'm going to put this together. I understand how a sump works and why there good but I'm still not sure what equipment goes into one. I know there's all kinds of different varients but I'm not sure what I should look into getting. Its for my 30 gallon and I'm clueless. =\
__________________
Brandonjkoontz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 01:45 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
You will want a skimmer for your sump. Only necessary thing is a return pump. Your going to need an overflow box as well. I highly suggest drilling your tank and installing overflow bulkhead and return bulkhead alone with box.

Hang on the back overflows can be unreliable cause your sump to drain and a big mess on the floor. Power outages also can cause problems with hang on overflows.
__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 03:08 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Brandonjkoontz1's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: woodbine maryland
Posts: 88
When you say drill the tank you mean connect the whole system to the DT?
__________________
Brandonjkoontz1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2012, 04:03 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Schism's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Lima, Ohio
Posts: 2,093
I mean drilling the display tank to accept 2 bulkheads. One for the overflow and one for the return line from the sump.
__________________

__________________
29g Mixed Reef, 150w 14k Phoenix MH w/ Moonlights, Reef Octopus BH1000 HOB Skimmer, Ecotech Vortech MP10es, ReefKeeper Lite (Plus), PH Probe, Temp Probe, ATO, Carbon/GFO Reactor.
Schism is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter, filters

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.