Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-16-2011, 03:42 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Crazycraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 19
Filtration and powerheads

I have a 125 gallon saltwater tank with probably 75 pounds of base and live rock , a fire fish four little crabs and a clownfish . I want to go reef with fish . I have three 404 fuvals and two 402 powerheads . Are the powerheads too much ? I know you need as much flow as u can get and oxygen is always a plus but it just seems like a lot of tiny bubbles . It kinda makes the water look not as clear . They are at seperate ends of tank too .
__________________

__________________
Crazycraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 03:56 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
kurtyboh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Okinawa, Japan
Posts: 1,413
Send a message via MSN to kurtyboh Send a message via Skype™ to kurtyboh
You shouldn't get bubbles from your power heads, try adjusting the direction so it creates a slight ripple at the top without directly conflicting with the current from another
__________________

__________________
kurtyboh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 04:04 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Crazycraven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 19
Ok so then how do i airate the tank ? I put a tube threw the hole in the nozzle to creat current and airate
__________________
Crazycraven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 09:07 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
aeration happens at the surface. you don't want any air lines in the display. just make sure the surface is turbulent. aim a power head upwards towards the surface and you will be fine.
a protein skimmer also adds air to the water.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration, powerheads

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Filtration issues, or lack-there-of filtration... penelope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-02-2008 08:22 PM
Powerheads Rambo64 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 02-11-2007 09:51 PM
Any use for powerheads? teamgs Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 12 10-05-2006 03:00 PM
PowerHeads nsu7 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 06-20-2005 03:22 PM
powerheads ??? how many ? batfire Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 2 12-12-2004 06:03 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.