Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-23-2013, 06:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Finally drilled my rock!

It's been a work in progress, but it's finally done. I drilled and rodded 175lbs of live rock. What do you think...


Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3131321768.jpg
Views:	74
Size:	117.7 KB
ID:	187899
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4061087216.jpg
Views:	77
Size:	114.2 KB
ID:	187901  
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 06:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 277
I like it! I need to get some heighth on my rockscape but I dont do good stacking. Did you use acrylic rods? And was it hard to drill the rock or did they break easily? Looks great, now do you want to come do mine?
__________________

__________________
furrymurray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 07:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
Quote:
Originally Posted by furrymurray View Post
I like it! I need to get some heighth on my rockscape but I dont do good stacking. Did you use acrylic rods? And was it hard to drill the rock or did they break easily? Looks great, now do you want to come do mine?
Thanks. Yes I used 3/8" acrylic rods. There were a few pieces of rock that were a pain to drill. Others were quite easy. I had to do sections at a time because I didn't want my parameters to spike due to the rock being out of the water. I tried to do it at the same time as my w/c.
__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 09:58 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Diesel84's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 152
What did you use to drill it? I was thinking concrete bits and a hammer drill
__________________
Diesel84 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2013, 10:36 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
tampa_nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 137
Concrete bits would be what you want to do but the hammer drill would probably cause fault lines in the rock to break and the rock would crumble.
__________________
tampa_nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 05:25 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
SaltwaterNuB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Rocklin, ca
Posts: 791
I used a concrete bit or mason bit. I also used my hammer drill but didn't have the hammer switch on,
__________________

__________________
SaltwaterNuB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.