Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-06-2012, 01:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cerulean_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 144
Ok another question...I currently only have the API SW Master test kit and stuff to test for copper (I was worried about previous ich treatment soaking in the sealant, but luckily no signs of copper!)

Anyway, when do I need to start worrying about phosphates? And where do they come from? Overfeeding, non-RO water? Do phosphates just cause algae like Nitrates?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
cerulean_blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 10:29 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cerulean_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 144
Hm my cycle is certainly taking it's time. I dosed with ammonia 4 days ago, and these are my parameters.



Readings:
Ammonia: 0-0.25ppm
Nitrite: 2-5ppm, it has been at this level since a week ago
Nitrate: 0-5ppm

Does it look like anything is going wrong or the cycle is stuck? It seems the ammonia is easily turning into Nitrite, but Nitrite to Nitrate is taking a whileeee

It's been a little over 3 weeks now
__________________

__________________
cerulean_blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:08 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
NyteGTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 549
yea normally nitrite takes a while. question, why is your nitrite water level so low? normally the nitrite should be just above the line after the test is done. it looks like you're missing 1ml of water there.
__________________
90G Reef - in Progress
12G Nanocube - Nano reef
15g QT, 10G Frag
NyteGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 12:11 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cerulean_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by NyteGTI View Post
yea normally nitrite takes a while. question, why is your nitrite water level so low? normally the nitrite should be just above the line after the test is done. it looks like you're missing 1ml of water there.
Good observation! I figured that if it wasn't at the line exactly it wouldn't be a big deal. But now that I'm thinking about it, if there is not enough water, the test could be inflated. I will test again tomorrow with the correct amount of water.
__________________
cerulean_blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 01:33 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
NyteGTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 549
yea I mean a little here & there isn't bad but 1ml+ is 10% off. could be a difference
__________________
90G Reef - in Progress
12G Nanocube - Nano reef
15g QT, 10G Frag
NyteGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 03:37 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cerulean_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 144
Think I'm done cycling! I have no Nitrites but the odd thing is I only have about 5ppm of Nitrates, aren't Nitrates supposed to go off the charts?? Sorry if the picture is sideways, I rotated it in like 2 different programs and it wont' stick.

cerulean_blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 03:43 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Fish noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 145
I just finished cycling and my nitrates weren't very high either. They were approx 20. I assumed they would skyrocket too, but they didn't. I dosed ammonia two more times to ensure I was cycled. Each time ammonia and nitrites were back to zero within 24 hours. Looks like I'm good.

If you haven't already, I would dose ammonia to 4ppm. If it and nitrites both zero out in less than 24 hours, I think you're ok.

Disclaimer: I am a noob
__________________
Fish noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:09 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cerulean_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 144
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fish noob View Post
I just finished cycling and my nitrates weren't very high either. They were approx 20. I assumed they would skyrocket too, but they didn't. I dosed ammonia two more times to ensure I was cycled. Each time ammonia and nitrites were back to zero within 24 hours. Looks like I'm good.

If you haven't already, I would dose ammonia to 4ppm. If it and nitrites both zero out in less than 24 hours, I think you're ok.

Disclaimer: I am a noob
Yup I just put some Ammonia in! I really wanted to go get a couple clowns today but I'll have to wait another week (I'll be traveling from tomorrow until next Friday)

But looks like I'm good, maybe if the ammonia turns to nitrite then nitrate in 3 hours I can go! haha that'd be a miracle.

And thanks for the disclaimer but its nice to hear from someone! Your opinion is always appreciated
cerulean_blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2012, 04:56 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
NyteGTI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 549
if you're traveling, don't get the clowns until you get back no matter what. you're going to want to watch new fish for a few weeks to make sure there's no disease
__________________
90G Reef - in Progress
12G Nanocube - Nano reef
15g QT, 10G Frag
NyteGTI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2012, 08:08 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cerulean_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 144
Fun Update!

Tank has been fully cycled for over a week, I finally got done with my travel schedule. So I went to my LFS, got 2 ocellarius clowns, 1 blue legged hermit, 2 astris snails.

My rock appears to be growing diatoms or is that BB?

I am in the process of acclimating the 2 clowns! They are doing very well so far, I also confirmed with the store that they quarantined them before hand and they have been in the store for 3 weeks perfectly healthy.

__________________

cerulean_blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
29 gallon, changed, first sw, new tank thread, starting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thoughts on Nitrate Sponges? senemedar Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 38 04-10-2012 06:43 PM
Is my guppy ill? Daddynev Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 17 03-09-2012 03:04 PM
What does my betta need? maestromad Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 25 03-07-2012 04:35 AM
At my witts end... Travis55 Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 37 03-06-2012 01:13 AM
My Plecosamus alia258 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 238 03-03-2012 01:53 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.