Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 01-17-2013, 10:30 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
First Build 60 Gal Mixed Tank

Hi everyone,
I am starting out buiding my first Saltwarer tank and your advice is needed before I start.
Some background about me.
I am 44 years young and I have done a lot of scuba diving which has always made me interested in getting a saltwater reef Aquarium and finally this year I am diving in. I am close to completion of the equipment gathering stage.
I have never done this before and have very little experience except for a small 10 gal goldfish tank that I have had for a couple of years.
My goal is to setup a mixed fish / reef tank that can hopefully sustain SPS & LPS and Fish. I want the hardware and reef life to be esthetically pleasing to the eye inside and out. However at the same time I don’t want to break the bank so finding the right balance has been hard in some areas.
I have been doing research and equipment gathering for about 6 weeks now and have accumulated the following kit: Any comments on what I need or concerns with the equipment would be appreciated as I am ready to start plumbing this weekend.
60 Gal Reef Ready Perfecto Glass Tank with Black Trim 48 x12x24 (Corner Overflow). I would prefer a 75 but that decision point is past.
Marineland Majesty Stand – Black
Reef Octopus NW-110 sump skimmer
Mag Drive 7 return Pump 750 GPH
1 x Koralia 600GPH Magnetic Power Head. I want 2 x vortech MP10 but they are ridiculously over priced) Once I start to populate the system I will look at a 2nd unit.
Fluval E200 Heater up to 60 Gal (Would a 300W be better ? )
60 Pounds of BRS Reef Saver Dry Aquarium Live Rock
60 Pounds of Fiji Pink Arag-Alive! Sand
90 Gal of Salt mix by Oceanic
RO System (Had one already for house water)