First fish

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ShaunV

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hello all. Thank you for all of your input. I am new to the hobby and am always trying to learn more in order to be a responsible aquarist. Any and all advice is always welcome.

I am picking up a captive bred black occ. clown today from my LFS. It is arriving from quality marine today. The LFS says I should not quarantine the fish because it would be too much stress to go from the bag to QT to DT. He swears by the quality of the fish and states that there will be no parasites present. I have my qt ready. It is the exact parameters of my DT. This is my first fish. I do have some corals. 1 small frogspawn, 1 small Xenia, 1 small star polyp, 1 medium star polyp, 1 blue striped mushroom with purple base, 1 Zoa, 1 montipora. I also have a small contingent of CUC. 9 snails, 6 hermits, 1 porcelain, 1 small peppermint.

Test results this morning,

Temp 78.5
Salinity 1.0245
Ph: 8.30
Alkalinity: 2.8 meq/l
Ammonia: 0
Nitrites: 0
Nitrates: 0
Calcium: 400

16.75 gallon tank
22 lbs. LR
30 lbs. LS
2 Koralia PH 425gph
Odyssea lights with MH, T5, moon

My big question is, should I quarantine the clown or do as my LFS says and drip acclimate and put in DT?

Pictures taken 4-13-12

Attachments

• image-3147603930.jpg
    image-3147603930.jpg
    154.5 KB · Views: 94
  • image-148815567.jpg
    image-148815567.jpg
    189.4 KB · Views: 86
  • image-3000480866.jpg
    image-3000480866.jpg
    179 KB · Views: 81
  • image-401415393.jpg
    image-401415393.jpg
    155.8 KB · Views: 94
  • image-3251491912.jpg
    image-3251491912.jpg
    186.7 KB · Views: 83
Last edited:
The tank was started on 3/5/2012. It is cycled. My rock and sand filtered out all of the nitrates. Converted it all to nitrogen gas. I have tested the water myself and through two LFS, same results as I get.