Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-09-2006, 11:44 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

First Saltwater Tank - 125gal. Conversion

I have been keeping freshwater fish for about 6 years now. I moved up the ranks from 10gal, to 55gal, and now I have a beautiful 125gal tank built into the wall in my basement. I have a very easy set up as I can access the back of the tank, where there is a water supply, drain, and plenty of room for whatever I need to put back there (about a 12X12 room).

I have two Ehiem canister filters, that are designed for 130 gal., One dual line air pump, the light that came with the tank (with a flora-life bulb), and a blacklight mounted above for nighttime effect. I have plenty of room underneath the tank for a sump system, but I have no experience with sumps. I have read the articles about them and still know very little a diagram or drawing of how it works would help me dramatically!

I would appreciate any help you guys can offer as there is no where else for me to go (I think Kansas City has boycoted aquarium stores or seomthing as they have all gone out of business, or never exsisted to begin with).

1) What goes in the sump besides the pump and filter lines?
2) How big of a sump should I find? I was thinking 20gal. as that would be enough for 10-15% PWC.
3) I will be buying a skimmer, not sure which yet (suggestions would be great), does that go on the sump?
4) What kind of lighting change do I need to make? I don't plan on doing any coral, as I don't have the experience or the time.
5) Should I get new media for my filters, or is it okay to simply rinse them out?
6) Should I get an undergravel filter? I have never used one, since I have always had some cichlids in the tank.