Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-31-2005, 08:15 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

First saltwater tank ever

I have been keeping freshwater fish for 10+ years and that's not counting any of the tanks my parents kept during childhood. However I have never had a saltwater tank. I'm very comfortable with freshwater tanks and fish and there are still tons of freshwater species I have yet had the opportunity to keep. However my kids really want some anemonefishes and of course anemones for them to swim in. So I think I might give this a try. I'm hoping to purchasae a tank and stand this weekend and I have some questions right off the bat.

First I'm thinking the 20 long tank would be better than the 29 high? I always prefer long to high....but is that preference wise with saltwater as well? What we are picturing is a tank with some anemones, anemonefishes, maybe some shrimp and then other invertebrates like soft coral and polyps. This is possible with the tank size I'm talking, right?

My second question.....When buying new tanks for freshwater I often get the starter kits. Usually I can get away with very little upgrading to these kits. But for this tank I am going to probably need better lights than what comes with the kit and other stuff. I have seen "marine" starter kits. Is it worth buying these or will I be better off buying everything I need myself?

Are protein skimmers necessary?

What light do I need for the coral/polyps/& anemones?

What book would you recommend for a total saltwater newbie? I really enjoy having stuff spoonfed to me in the simplest terms in the beginning.

Old 08-31-2005, 09:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict