Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-01-2009, 12:24 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Okay, first off, you don't need livesand...More than likely the stuff has been on the shelf so long it's all dead. Your LR will make your sand live soon enough.
You may want to get something a little coarser then #0. Someone else will have to help you on the # of the sand.
Do the removal in steps. Do half and then do the other half.
You do not have to remove your LR or fish to do this. If the CC is small enough suck it out. Rinse out your new Aragonite well and then Make a funnel out of cardboard or something like that and pour the sand in slowly. The water will get a little cloudy but should clear overnight. When it's time to do another PWC repeat the process untill it's done to the depth that you want. I run a Deep sandbed ~4-6" and use that to help keep my nitrates down.
Good luck and take your time. It does not have to be done in a day.
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 06:53 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
To add to TC's instructions, you can use a length of PVC pipe (cut to a manageable size or course) to put the substrate in.
__________________

__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 08:33 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 47
TC, I was actually hoping you would say I could use something more coarse. I was wanting to use something that every time a fish got near the bottom it wouldn't create a dust cloud.The largest I can buy at my LFS is #1 though.

Marine Substrate - Aragonite Sand #1 - 20 lb. | Buffered Substrate | Gravel & Substrate | Aquarium - ThatPetPlace.com

That is what I think I would like to get.

However, the coral is way to big to suck up through the vacuum. I also have so much live rock in the tank that I don't think that I will be able to vacuum around it.

Here is a few pics of my tank. I have never done this picture thing before so hopefully it works:


s

__________________
ddeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 09:41 AM   #14
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,244
Sorry I did not get back sooner but no dont move the LR. Just vacuum CC that is accesible. You dont want to move LR. As mentioned above sand would be a better option. Then your clean up crew could do it for you.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 10:06 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by melosu58 View Post
Sorry I did not get back sooner but no dont move the LR. Just vacuum CC that is accesible. You dont want to move LR. As mentioned above sand would be a better option. Then your clean up crew could do it for you.
No worries Mike. I appreciate everyones help on this so far. I am going to move the live rock to one side of the tank today and remove the coral. Then I am going to put in #1 sand in the bottom of the tank so that I won't have this headache any more.
__________________
ddeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 10:21 AM   #16
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
You gotta QT tank? just wonderin' how if that'd help to move all the critters and do your thing with the substrate switch over a day or two and not worry about the fish or a mini cycle or something.

Maybe even a couple of new tupperware buckets could do the trick. Just keep a powerhead going in them and maintain temp.

P.S. - nice tank. Betcha you'd love it even more with a back on it - painted or otherwise.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 10:32 AM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 47
Ray, I have a back for it, but I've been having a little trouble with the protein skimmer so I haven't put it up yet because I don't want to tear it. The tank shouldn't cycle again should it?
__________________
ddeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 11:13 AM   #18
AA Team Emeritus
 
austinsdad's Avatar


 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Accokeek, Maryland
Posts: 7,694
Hol old is the tank? I've heard of mini cycles when disturbing the substrate bed deeply. Especially when older established tanks are involved. When you do the change, have a minimum 25% water change ready just in case and monitor the chemistry.
__________________
-Ray-

"Life may not be the party we hoped for but while we are here we might as well dance!"

austinsdad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 11:25 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 47
Ray, the tank is about 7 weeks old.
__________________
ddeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2009, 12:46 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
divedeep1689's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: phenix city alabama
Posts: 1,061
Send a message via AIM to divedeep1689
Wat type of fish do you have in there? just the damsels i agree with everyone else about that crushed coral i had a 29 gal tank when i first started and that cc was awful could not keep it clean for nothing if i was you i would change it before your tank gets any more mature as you will just have more work then i would just get a small tank put the fish in it with some tank water and a few handfulls of cc because its already seeded put your rocks in a rubber maid with tank water and filter drain the tank saving as much water as possible scoop out all the cc then replace with sand and your live rocks and old water later re aclimate your fish. like i said wait to long it will be more of a chore. i would go with the dry agronite sand.
__________________

__________________
special thanks to melosu58 , roka , thincat,CaptainAhab (and many more who i will list later as i find thier names so i can spell them lol ) for i would not have the tank or the knowledge i have about my tank if not for them.
divedeep1689 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
change, water change

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water change - sit for a week - cloudy after change satch Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 16 10-07-2008 06:58 PM
How often do I change my water and how much at a time me1newman Saltwater Reef Aquaria 8 03-30-2005 02:48 PM
When is a good ideal time to do my first water change? gilly Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 01-20-2005 12:29 PM
Time for a water change bschroller Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 08-02-2004 02:13 PM
Time Change reefrunner69 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 12 10-27-2003 07:36 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.