First timer

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jolopy409

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
First as my first post on this site I would like to introduce myself. My name is Mike and I've been GRAVING a saltwater reef tank ever since seeing my friends 5 yrs ago in college. I have little knowledge of the necessary steps other than canvasing this forum as a guest for the last 2 months. Heres my goal.
1)I would like to have a reef tank.
2)1 or 2 clown fish for a little activity in the tank.
3)endless time spent staring at my hard work lol.

What i have already:
40 gallon seaclear acrylic tank(36 gallons i think dimensionally)
Emperor 400 bio-wheel power filter(hob) see i was reading slang on here lol
Marineland reef capable 36in led light system.

Besides substrate and live rock and salt water what do i need do get this going? I want to build off what i have. THANK YOU ANYONE WILLING TO PROVIDE THEIR KNOWLEDGE

Firstly welcome

Do you have a good fish store close to you that sells ro water? It's the first step

Also have u thought about how u will cycle the tank?

Yash- Yes there is a store that recently opened that has an ro/di filter who sells the water as well as many corals and fish. Problem though is he doesn't have a stock of supplies besides the base substrate. Most things I would imagine are ordered. Which I can do without a mark up haha.

Kpcustoms-I will def read thoughs over tonight and probably multiple times tomorrow at work. Without reading what you posted i have read that with fish usually the fish dies(a waste of money in my mind) So which would you think would be easiest for a first timer. I have an ace hardware 2 miles away for the janitorial ammonia. I read a lot of people talking about that already.

Edit- just checked the links and they say they are invalid.