First timer needs help to start off well

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

aznbob

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi,

This is my first time ever setting up a saltwater tank. I REALLY need help with pretty much everything and was hoping for some help.

I'm currently looking at a 29 gallon tank with fish and live rocks and maybe down the road corals. I'm also doing all this on a tight budget.

So to start thing off,

1. Live rocks - I'm looking for about 10 lbs live rocks and 40 lbs base rocks (which would convert to live rocks later right?). Which type is the best for color and price? What rocks can be used as base rocks and where can I get base rocks for cheap?

2. Substate - What substrate should I get? Sand/crushed corals? I live in New Orleans, so can I just go to the beach and get a bucket full?

3. Skimmer/Filter - Are there any cheap skimmer that is good for a 29 gallon tank? I read that Remora is the best but I think $150 if too much for my budget.

4. Light - I have no clue where to start. What light? What wattage? How much should I expect to put out for lights for corals down the road?

That's what I think I need to get everything started and cycled for fish so any help is appreciated.