Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-08-2006, 01:55 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Send a message via AIM to csquare77 Send a message via MSN to csquare77
First try at salt water

Ive been keeping fish for about 3 years and im about to try my first saltwater tank.

Im going to turn my 29 gal into a saltwater tank. (at the moment it is a freshwater) Ive been reading through the forums and so far this is what I got.

1. Deep sand, i'll get approx. 4 inches, do you have to get the gas pockets out also? (like in freshwater)
2. Live rock 40-50 pounds.
3. Im going to go with Ocellaris Clownfish looks like 2 is the max with maybe 1 other fish.
4. What is the best way I should add water, just get the salt mix, or get the pre-mixed saltwater?
5. A good Cleaning crew, Shrimp, crabs, any other good ones?
6. Anything I miss?

Thanks. Sorry if I placed this post in the wrong section of the forums. I saw the live rock section and thats what in going for, + im at work, lol

Old 05-08-2006, 12:20 PM   #2
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin

Tank of the Month Award

No problem Csquare. Imoved this to a forum that will get you better answers. The only thing I can recommend is that you do a fishless cycle,which is up top under articles. Good luck.

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank

AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2006, 12:37 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

What kind of filtration system will you be using? I would recommend a protein skimmer as well.
Old 05-08-2006, 01:52 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak

Congrats.

I'm in the same boat as you.