Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-07-2012, 01:17 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
So I tested my water again this morning and this is what I got. Also, I'm using API test kit.

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1766548522.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	143.7 KB
ID:	111190
__________________

__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 01:21 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by spoonman
My point was that if you use pure ammonia, you can make sure that the levels are right without doing water changes. Also, the bb needs nitrite to convert to nitrate. Water changes will also remove nitrite. Just my experience. There are alot of ways to skin a cat (so to speak).
Yea but the ammonia will convert into nitrites again anyways, he obviously isn't lacking nitrites. In fact I would do a water change to get them back into a readable range because they could be much higher than the test will show
__________________

__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:13 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
Okay thanks pay... I'll be doing another 30% water change tomorrow cause i just mixed the saltwater. Hopefully the nitrITES will be readable after water change
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:49 PM   #24
SW REEF 18+ YEARS
Community Admin
 
melosu58's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Virginia
Posts: 38,249
I would not do any water changes. Your tank is cycling perfect. Leave it alone and let it cycle. When your ammonia and nitrites are at 0 then do a 33% PWC for the nitrates.
__________________

SITE ADMINISTRATOR

You can view many of my fish and corals in my photo albums in my profile.

View my tank


AA Community Rules|AA TOS

Forums 101 - posting, accounts, basics
melosu58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:55 PM   #25
Fish R friends, not food!
 
spoonman's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 3,720
Quote:
Originally Posted by paytertot View Post
Yea but the ammonia will convert into nitrites again anyways, he obviously isn't lacking nitrites. In fact I would do a water change to get them back into a readable range because they could be much higher than the test will show
Just giving my experience cycling saltwater tanks. Have cycled 2 in the last few months and have been very successful. Like I said, alot of ways to skin a cat.
spoonman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:02 PM   #26
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
All right so no water change then. How long do I have to wait for ammonia and nitrites to 0? I'm planning on testing my water again in 4-5 days to see the results
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 08:34 AM   #27
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
Day 18 of my cycle and my water parameters are

NH3 = 0
NO2 = >5
NO3 = 40

Is this normal?
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:04 AM   #28
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Yep. Completely normal
__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:12 AM   #29
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jlsardina
Yep. Completely normal
Thanks for responding!

Do I need to do anything? Water change? Dose the ammonia back to 4ppm? Or just let it cycle like that..
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2012, 10:13 AM   #30
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Jlsardina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: SW Florida
Posts: 2,581
Send a message via AIM to Jlsardina
Wait til your nitrites are at zero and then dose ammo again. You want to make sure it can convert to zero on ammo and Trites in 24 hours or less.
__________________

__________________
Jlsardina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, fishless, fishless cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.