Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-18-2012, 04:27 PM   #41
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Beengirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Michigan
Posts: 3,308
Yea!!! I know it's SO exciting when your new tank is nearly cycled. I've only been in SW for few months, so I remember that all too well! Shouldn't be too much longer now. . . then some fish finally!!

Good luck!!
__________________

__________________
Beengirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 09:51 AM   #42
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
It's day 27th now and my water is
NH3 = 0 (but kinda greenish)
NO2 = 0
NO3 = ~ 20-40

Click image for larger version

Name:	image-2352877851.jpg
Views:	47
Size:	163.8 KB
ID:	113673

What would be the next step? Am I almost done cycling?
__________________

__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 09:56 AM   #43
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Stephen Rollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 482
Quote:
Originally Posted by daney90
It's day 27th now and my water is
NH3 = 0 (but kinda greenish)
NO2 = 0
NO3 = ~ 20-40

What would be the next step? Am I almost done cycling?
Looks to me like you are almost done

Dose again with Ammonia. If it zeros out in 24 hrs. Then do that again for 3 more days and if all zeros out each day then the day before you add fish do as close to a 100% water change as you can then the next day you can add fish.

Hope this helps
__________________
Stephen Rollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2012, 10:50 AM   #44
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
daney90's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 523
Thanks a bunch! I'll dose ammonia tonight when I get home. How much pure ammonia do I need to put? 5ml?
__________________
daney90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:28 PM   #45
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Stephen Rollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 482
http://www.fishforums.net/aquarium-calculator.htm

Enter in your tank info and in the bottom change it to 4 ppm then add the amount of ammonia required
__________________
Stephen Rollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:31 PM   #46
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Stephen Rollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 482
If you have a 55 gallon with no sump youll way to use 9.77 ml of ammonia if you are running a sump then you'll have to take the sump volume into consideration.
__________________
Stephen Rollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2012, 02:40 PM   #47
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Stephen Rollins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Arizona
Posts: 482
Disregard my last post. The ammonia amount will depend on the percentage of ammonia your using and total volume of your system. Plug in the info in the calculator and it will give you the amount required. Make sure to change the ppm to 4
__________________

__________________
Stephen Rollins is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, fishless, fishless cycling

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.