Fluval Edge 12 FOWLR

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tck13

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey everyone, this is my first time posting here!

I've been wanting to get started on building a fluval edge 12 FOWLR and I had a few questions and a few build proposals that I wanted to go over before I go any further.

I know there are a plethora of threads on this topic but many of them are fairly old and MANY of them have differing opinions so I thought it could help me getting a more pointed response.

This is my current wishlist:

* Fluval Edge 12 (already ordered)

* Aqueon Pro 50 Submersible Aquarium Heater (already ordered)

* 10 pounds of live rock from LFS

* 20 pounds Live sand from LFS

* Salt water from LFS

* Saltwater testkit

* Nano powerhead

With stock filter and lights for the time being.

From what I have seen from some other posts this seems like all the supplies I would need.

Maintenance schedule would be 25% water changes once a week with water from LFS for the first couple months and then possibly invest in a RODI if things are going well.

I would eventually like to turn this into a nano reef once I can save up for the lighting(namely the 18 watt ultrabrite that's fitted for the edge). I was wondering if not having the final tank lighting or any corals during the cycling period is a bad idea if I plan on adding them(lights/coral) within the first month?

Questions:

* Is this a decent set up?

* Is my plan of action and supply list decent? What should I ABSOLUTELY add to this?

* Where will I run into complications(besides the edge being a crappy first salt tank as many have said)?

*What are the small things I'm forgetting about here? Please be nit picky.

Thanks for any and all help!

Sounds like a good start. You don't want corals in the tank while it's cycling. The light won't matter during cycling.