Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-26-2013, 06:31 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
bribo12's Avatar

Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 9,117
Lowering phosphates will help, they are pretty high. Ammonia should also be 0 and what type of flow do you have in the tank? That could be contributing as well
__________________

__________________
20 Gallon SPS reef
29 Gallon FW "fat catfish" tank
20 Gallon Long Dart Frogs "Zig" and "Zag"
bribo12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:32 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chriis Wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 14
I'm running fluval CP2 do I need more flow?
__________________

__________________
Chriis Wookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:32 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chriis Wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 14
How can I lower the phosphates?
__________________
Chriis Wookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:38 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriis Wookey View Post
I do not feed my tank as I do not have fish
And I have a fluval spectrum light
OK !
I am sure I read twice a day feed so they don't eat too much
Sorry I must have read it wrong
__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:39 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chriis Wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 14
It's fine so can you help?
__________________
Chriis Wookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:47 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriis Wookey View Post
It's fine so can you help?
Test your water
To start off I would do a pretty heavy water change .
No more then 50%
And pending your test results after 24hrs you might need to repeat .
Finding the source for the excessive nutrients that are causing the algae bloom is the ultimate goal .
We need more information about your system .
It is possible the RO water you re buying is contaminated .
Some places neglect to change their filter making the water high in tds
__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:51 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chriis Wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 14
Ok thank you I will let you know
__________________

__________________
Chriis Wookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.