Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-25-2013, 07:36 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chriis Wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 14
fluval spectrum light algae problem! Help??

Hello I'm new to this forum, I have recently bought a fluval spectrum light 24inch and my alage is growing out of control, I clean, scrub and have cut down the lighting to 6 hours a day and NOTHING is working, as you can see I even have put a phosphate remover (max clear fluval) in the tank as well as having it in the filter. Help anyone?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-4558951.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	161.3 KB
ID:	199769  
__________________

__________________
Chriis Wookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 08:21 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
woody390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,041
How often and how much water changes do you normally do and how much and often do you feed? Usually this is caused by excess nitrates etc in tank so way to cure it is to find the source of the nitrate
__________________

__________________
woody390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 08:26 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chriis Wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 14
Twice a day fed from a syringe so I make sure the two clown fish eat all what is given to them, and I do a 10% water change once a week, but have started doing between 15% & 20% since the algae, I also buy my water from a garden centre which I have been since I started my tank, the algae only kicked up when I got the spectrum light
__________________
Chriis Wookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 09:11 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Is the water from the garden center rodi or just tap/filtered ? If not rodi water then it is probably the source of your issues. What are your current water parameters?
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2013, 09:14 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chriis Wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 14
From a garden centre, I buy RO and Salt Water
And I had my water tested yesterday and everything is perfect, that's why I'm so confused
__________________
Chriis Wookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 01:35 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dav3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: California
Posts: 1,233
Just RO or RODI? Big difference in this hobby. And is the premixed saltwater made with RODI water? And is it made with salt for aquariums?

If you are battling algae then your parameters aren't perfect. What are the numbers?
__________________
Dav3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 03:24 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
woody390's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1,041
Agreed algae needs nutrients for food so must be some in there
__________________
woody390 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 04:59 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chriis Wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 14
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3350285495.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	62.8 KB
ID:	209390

A bit better but my parameter are still mad! I have a 300 compact skimmer on it and nothing is working

Temp 27
Ph 8.1
Ca2+ 460
NH3 0.25ppm
No2 0
No3 0.25
KH 90
Phosphate 0.30
Salinity 1.024

Alage still is going a bit mad, how can i defeat it?
__________________
Chriis Wookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Rmckoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 919
Phosphates are very high and contribute to the issue .
Feeding twice a day is the source to the high nutrients .
Phos is more likely higher knowing its absorbed into the rocks and can go forever undetected .
Please don't quote me on this but green algae is excessive or incorrect lighting ?
Did you say with your test you detected ammonia and nitrates ?
Ammonia above 0ppm is a indication of too much decaying and not being processed or converted into nitrates
__________________
Rmckoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2013, 06:31 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Chriis Wookey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Somerset, UK
Posts: 14
I do not feed my tank as I do not have fish
And I have a fluval spectrum light
__________________

__________________
Chriis Wookey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.