Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-09-2004, 09:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Freshwater to Saltwater: Equipment changes?

Hi, I am making the jump from freshwater to FOWLR saltwater. I would appreciate any comments on my current equipment setup.
I will be using a 46 gal. bowfront.
I currently have:
1.)HOT Magnum Pro 30: It's done a great job with messy cichlids but based on what I've seen in these forums, I'd need a protein skimmer too. Is that right or can I get by without one?
2.)Rio 600 submersible pump. I think I need at last one more powerhead?
3.)Anything else?
I'm a student with limited funds so I am trying to be realistic with what I can do (ie no reef setup).
Thanks.

Old 08-10-2004, 01:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak

Hi--one newbie to another, here's what I've learned from these boards:
1) Most people seem to consider a skimmer essential, though some do operate without one. The general recommendation is to get the very best skimmer you can afford, preferably one rated for a larger tank than you are actually running.
2) Probably another powerhead; marine fish (and corals and etc) are generally used to lots of movement.
3) Lights--lots of options there, but no one seems to run the standard "came with my hood" strip lights. And--live rock!! 1 1/2-2 lbs per gallon.

Poke around the forums and you'll find lots of discussion of all these topics. Every time I think I have an original question, I search and find out that three other people have already asked it.

But I will say that this ain't a cheap hobby. I think numbers tossed around for startup costs are $20-$30 a gallon? I'm finding that to be just about right.

Euroreef ES5-3
2x Maxijet powerheads
Mag drive 9 return
Coralife 4x65 Lunar Aqualight
120 lbs rock from liverocks.com