Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-11-2011, 08:50 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict

General Stocking Question

I have noticed that there tends to be a rule of thumb when it comes to the amount of fish recommended for different tank sizes. I am curious what determines that.

Other than the fact that some fish require more room to swim, or that they get a bit large, isn't it mostly how much bio-load your tank can withstand? It seems to me that if the increase is done slow enough, the BB will continue to rise until it reaches a level where there just isn't enough room in the LR and LS to sustain it any longer. Is that pretty much it in a nut shell?

I am just beginning to stock my 45 Gal tank. In trying to pick what I want, I am finding that I am very limited (thought it was a big tank until now). Now I understand why everyone wants to up size. LOL Understanding that if my tank is heavily stocked I would, at the very least, have to increase the frequency of PWC to reduce the rapid increase in Nitrate, I don't really see a big problem. Or, is it that fish just get to feeling crowded and don't do well.

Old 08-11-2011, 10:18 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

POTM Champion

The fish can become crowded and become stressed, thats why tangs dont do well in smaller tanks

You can fit a few fish in that tank, just not a boatload.

Old 08-11-2011, 10:40 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by carey View Post
The fish can become crowded and become stressed, thats why tangs dont do well in smaller tanks

You can fit a few fish in that tank, just not a boatload.
Hard decisions. LOL Sure makes me want a 125 or bigger. LOL Now I know why you have so many tanks.