Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-11-2007, 06:47 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
newfound77951's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: St Petersburg FL
Posts: 2,114
getting macro out of a bed of zoos

I have a nice rock covered in zoos....problem is it is also covered in macroalgae (caulerpa and some red/purplish stuff that grows like crazy in my tank). I didn't realize how invasive the stuff was until it was too late. I have taken the rock out and tried to pick off all the macro but that only helps for a while.....any ideas, tips or tricks on getting this stuff off the zoos?
__________________

__________________
newfound77951 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 10:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sadielynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,835
I would qt this and just continue with the manual removal . Also watch your levels of Disolved organics and such as they feed off that and contiue to grow
__________________

__________________
Sadielynn
Nanoreefing site
2 nanos
10 gallon ~6.5 gallon custom
Sadielynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 11:44 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Just curious what quarantining it would do. Are you saying that with more pristine water conditions the macro will die out? Just curious because my little zoa clump has the same issue - some reddish macro that grows slow, but I'd rather it not be there.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 03:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Sadielynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,835
Yes it would put it in a more controlled enviroment with less nutrients in the water and in theory that should cause it to die off ...also by hand removal (I know long task it would keep it from the loose pieces from becoming free floating in your display and latching on else where ... removal of macro is difficult but can be done by hand removal and limmiting the nutrients in its envroment
__________________
Sadielynn
Nanoreefing site
2 nanos
10 gallon ~6.5 gallon custom
Sadielynn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 09:15 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
extract the zoos if nothing else works. I have had to do this to a few zoo rocks. sucks.
__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
macro, zoos

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Zoos? Scatcat Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 04-20-2005 10:26 AM
New Zoos. lando Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 01-30-2005 10:53 AM
Deep Sand Bed?? Or just sand bed??? Utradeshow Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 11-29-2004 05:46 PM
Something to ID on my Zoos. fnscasey Saltwater & Reef - Identification 9 04-08-2004 12:56 PM
New zoos reefrunner69 New Acquisitions 2 05-21-2003 01:53 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.