Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 07-08-2005, 01:08 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Getting Started New Tank

I am new to saltwater aquariums. I have been doing research and bought books but thought i would ask for some advice.

I have a 30 gallon tank and want to keep fish and coral in the tank.

I thought of buying an emporor Powerfilter 400 w\bio wheel for my filter. Might buy an undergravel filter also. pushed by two powerheads for reverse filtration. is this a good idea for a 30 gallon tank.

I am going to buy live sand for my tank bed and about 30 pounds of live rock.

I was going to get a Berlin Air-lift protein skimmer for a 50 gallon tank.

Any suggestion would be great kind of on a limited budget right now but from books i have read this will be good. But sometimes books are not always correct. any information you can give me would be great

Thanks

Old 07-08-2005, 01:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!!
Quote:
I thought of buying an emporor Powerfilter 400 w\bio wheel for my filter. Might buy an undergravel filter also. pushed by two powerheads for reverse filtration. is this a good idea for a 30 gallon tank.
Good filter for the tank, gives you lots of options for filter media. I would skip the UGF and do a LS bed directly on the bottom. A couple powerheads for movemet are great.
Quote:
I have a 30 gallon tank and want to keep fish and coral in the tank.
Any ideas on lighting?

Old 07-08-2005, 01:36 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Getting Started New Tank

Good I did not really want to get an UGF anyway. I will purchase to Powersweep powerheads then.

I have no idea about lighting I know i have to buy a whole new hood for my aquarium any advice on what to get for a coral and fish tank.