Getting Started New Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scr324

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to saltwater aquariums. I have been doing research and bought books but thought i would ask for some advice.

I have a 30 gallon tank and want to keep fish and coral in the tank.

I thought of buying an emporor Powerfilter 400 w\bio wheel for my filter. Might buy an undergravel filter also. pushed by two powerheads for reverse filtration. is this a good idea for a 30 gallon tank.

I am going to buy live sand for my tank bed and about 30 pounds of live rock.

I was going to get a Berlin Air-lift protein skimmer for a 50 gallon tank.

Any suggestion would be great kind of on a limited budget right now but from books i have read this will be good. But sometimes books are not always correct. any information you can give me would be great

Thanks

Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!!! :smilecolros: :smilecolros: :smilecolros:
I thought of buying an emporor Powerfilter 400 w\bio wheel for my filter. Might buy an undergravel filter also. pushed by two powerheads for reverse filtration. is this a good idea for a 30 gallon tank.
Good filter for the tank, gives you lots of options for filter media. I would skip the UGF and do a LS bed directly on the bottom. A couple powerheads for movemet are great.
I have a 30 gallon tank and want to keep fish and coral in the tank.
Any ideas on lighting?

Good I did not really want to get an UGF anyway. I will purchase to Powersweep powerheads then.

I have no idea about lighting I know i have to buy a whole new hood for my aquarium any advice on what to get for a coral and fish tank.

I will purchase to Powersweep powerheads then.
Powersweeps are okay, but they are bulky and have a tendency for failure. I would look into maxi-jet powerheads instead.