Going from freshwater to saltwater?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ZacksFlowerhorn123

Aquarium Advice Activist
Is saltwater hard to take care? I I have been keeping fit for 8 years(all freshwater). I'm thinking of damsels, and clowfish and either yellow tang or a dogfaced puffer? The 55 currently has no fish in it. I what would I have to do weekly to maintain it? My tank is in a room with low lighting but I have a t5 aqueon light system that is really bright. Please tell me what would lie ahead of me if I did the switch. I've kept tropical, Goldfish, and cichlids. :confused:

You already have the general idea of how to keep fish, cycling, maintenance, cost, and general knowledge. ... Now, multiply all of that by 10, and cost by about 20.

You will have to re-research saltwater fish and see what is compatible. Do you want to keep FOWLR (fish only with live rock)? Or do you eventually want a reef tank with corals and clams? There are some fish (especially really colorful ones) that aren't compatible with reef systems because they eat the corals.

Once you answer these questions you can decide what temperment of fish. I kinda would compare damsels to cichlids, and clowfish to guppies. They have completely different attitudes, and can't be together.

For FOWLR, you can get away with standard lighting used in FW tanks, since live rock doesn't need metal halide lighting or 8 T5s. I ran my tank with 2 clowns and a blennie with live rock for a few months under the stock lighting that came with the tank. Of course if you upgrade lighting you will see more life from the LR and be able to keep corals.

There are more parameters to watch out for. It's not just ammonia, pH, nitrates/ites. Salinity and phosphates also play an important role in SW keeping (and even more when adding corals).