Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-29-2005, 09:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

good buy for beginner?

im new in the saltwater aquarium community and am looking to buy this set up from a friend:

55 gal all glass aquarium (no stand or hood)
wet dry filter with pump and bio balls
UV sterilizer
water test kit
heaters
coral
substrate

the tank was torn down about 6 months ago, but before that it was established for 10 years he claims. He has kept everything wet in the meantime. All that for $125. Think its worth it?

what else will i need to get for this to be complete and i can start setting up? i know i need lights and a stand.

Old 01-30-2005, 04:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

what else do you need? a lot of sleepless nights to set that up.

Old 01-30-2005, 11:16 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict

Hi Ryan...Welcome to AquariumAdvice.com!
$125 for the equipment seems like a good deal. Do you know what type of lights the tank comes with? I am a bit leary of the "wet" suff. If it has been in the rubbermaid tub with no heat, water movement or water changes it may just be wet dead stuff. Let me know about the lighting set up it comes with and we can give more info.
Old 01-30-2005, 11:40 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict

he prob paid more than that just for the wet/dry what pump came with it ?
imo thats a good deal !
Old 01-30-2005, 01:55 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak

Thats a very good deal. I'd take it in a second.

Maiden's Hair, Calerpa, and Red Kelp macro algae.
X the Outsider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2005, 01:56 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via MSN to RocketSeason
Good deal!

now you will need a decent stand and hood. lighing (prefrebly starting out with PC lights or MH lights.) $400 ish