Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-22-2011, 04:36 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
thincat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 5,330
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
naturally, the larger the tank the better off for tangs. i would rather keep a tang in a 6' tank..like a 125. it's a good size tank.
you could keep some tangs in a 4' tank, like a scopus, or kole. most of the others get huge and require some swimming space.

scarfish, you aren't going to be keeping any photosynthetic creatures in that tank are you? if so, i would lower that light considerably. 6" off of the water surface is plenty high to protect it from water splashing.

another option is hydroponics lighting. they also utilize excellent, individual reflectors like reef lighting, but there are 2 downsides:
1. they are generally wider than reef fixtures, so you will have to pay attention to that. i have an 8 lamp fixture right now and the footprint is 48" x 24".
2. they only come with one cord, so you can't have a morning/evening transition. photosynthesis is not effected by the lack of a morning/evening transition though...it's just for our own viewing pleasure.
Doug, does this fixture support HO lamps?
__________________

__________________
Happy Reefing,
TC
thincat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 09:47 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
yep. T-5 HO. 40,000 lumens.
you wouldn't run actinics through the night. just an extra hour or so before and after the daylights. ...but that's really not necessary anyway. yes, the fixture i have has 2 switches, but only 1 cord. that would indicate 2 ballasts. i'm not worried about the morning/evening transition enough to warrant rewiring.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 11:29 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
fair enough

i personally have a 18ich T8 as my lighting now but i'm awaiting my eletrical suppliers quote on a 2lamp T5 HO 24" strip so i can retro fit it inplace of the T8. i also plan on putting a blue rope light as lunar light. i plan on wiring it so when i switch off the T5s the LEDs go on but i'm also tryign to find a timer for it to make it more consistant
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:04 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
you could leave the LED rope light on 24/7. then you won't need a timer.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 12:05 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
i could but i'd still need a plug in timer to turn on and off the T5s
__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 05:58 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i use the ones you can find at home depot and lowes. just get the heavy duty kind, otherwise they don't accept 3 prong plugs. they work perfect.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fowlr, light, lighting, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good Ro or RO/DI unit catmel General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-24-2008 12:40 AM
Would this be a good RO/DI unit? dheck General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 01-25-2008 12:38 PM
Is this a Good RO Unit? drillsar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-23-2006 12:13 AM
Where to get a good RO/DI unit AndyH5512 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-22-2005 08:48 PM
Is this a good RO unit? BONESTOCK Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 01-26-2004 03:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.