Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-21-2011, 07:00 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 36
Good lighting unit?

Anyone have any suggestions for a good lighting unit?

Im looking into setting up a 80G FOWLR but would probaly attempt corals along the road?

Thanks Jon
__________________

__________________
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 08:09 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
iDream's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 2,862
how long is the tank? and what kind of lights do you want? metal halides? T5s? LEDs?

MHs, are fairly expensive, get very hot, use up a lot of electricity, but are extremely powerful.

T5s unless they are indiviually reflected arent as powerful, but cost less upfront and electricity-wise.

LEDs are very expensive, but are very energy efficient, and quite powerful. and most of them time completely customizable in terms of coloring, white/blue balance etc.
__________________

__________________
iDream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 11:12 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 36
Probably T5's I dont know the exact size of the tank i think its 60 inches by 20 inches. Im not 100% on the tank at the moment anyway. but it is 80G im looking at.
__________________
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 12:31 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
jon..if you can, get a 4', or preferably a 6' tank. more lighting choices and the 6'er will accept tangs.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 01:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 36
I'm going to go to the LFS tomorrow I'll take a pic and get measurements.

Why wouldn't a 4ft tank accept tangs? Not even small ones?

Thanks
Jon
__________________
FW - been there got the fever
80G FOWLR in process of setting up
We all got to start somewhere!
Everyone dies but not everyone lives
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 01:01 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 82
Go to an electrical supply store and ask for a lithonia IBZ 454 rather inexpensive compared to lights made for tanks. But with this light u need to raise it above the tank because it's fully vented and it's possible water could contact components... For your size tank ask for the 6 bulb fixture I used a 4
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-616776172.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	27167  
__________________
Scarfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 04:39 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
naturally, the larger the tank the better off for tangs. i would rather keep a tang in a 6' tank..like a 125. it's a good size tank.
you could keep some tangs in a 4' tank, like a scopus, or kole. most of the others get huge and require some swimming space.

scarfish, you aren't going to be keeping any photosynthetic creatures in that tank are you? if so, i would lower that light considerably. 6" off of the water surface is plenty high to protect it from water splashing.

another option is hydroponics lighting. they also utilize excellent, individual reflectors like reef lighting, but there are 2 downsides:
1. they are generally wider than reef fixtures, so you will have to pay attention to that. i have an 8 lamp fixture right now and the footprint is 48" x 24".
2. they only come with one cord, so you can't have a morning/evening transition. photosynthesis is not effected by the lack of a morning/evening transition though...it's just for our own viewing pleasure.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 09:07 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 36
I couldn't go to a 6' I'm pushing it with the tank I have planned. I only plan on having 1 regal tang in the tang department (small). What's the growth rate? It can't be the biggest crime to do that? .......but what do I know?
__________________
FW - been there got the fever
80G FOWLR in process of setting up
We all got to start somewhere!
Everyone dies but not everyone lives
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:53 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
sure. it will work for a while.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 03:38 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gti_Leo's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto,Ontario
Posts: 3,021
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_X View Post
naturally, the larger the tank the better off for tangs. i would rather keep a tang in a 6' tank..like a 125. it's a good size tank.
you could keep some tangs in a 4' tank, like a scopus, or kole. most of the others get huge and require some swimming space.

scarfish, you aren't going to be keeping any photosynthetic creatures in that tank are you? if so, i would lower that light considerably. 6" off of the water surface is plenty high to protect it from water splashing.

another option is hydroponics lighting. they also utilize excellent, individual reflectors like reef lighting, but there are 2 downsides:
1. they are generally wider than reef fixtures, so you will have to pay attention to that. i have an 8 lamp fixture right now and the footprint is 48" x 24".
2. they only come with one cord, so you can't have a morning/evening transition. photosynthesis is not effected by the lack of a morning/evening transition though...it's just for our own viewing pleasure.
i can explain to you how you could wire it so you can have two cords.

most fluorescents have multiple ballasts, in an 8lamp T5 you're looking at 2 of them, both being 4 lamp. so its possible to run all actinic on one ballast and 4 of whatever else you want to run, and have just the daylight bulbs switch off at night and leave the actinic running through the night. it just involves drillign out a 7/8" hole, getting a 6' piece of SOW cord wire with a waterproof cable connector, a male cord end and a few marretts


Quote:
Originally Posted by iDreamInSaltwater View Post
how long is the tank? and what kind of lights do you want? metal halides? T5s? LEDs?

MHs, are fairly expensive, get very hot, use up a lot of electricity, but are extremely powerful.

T5s unless they are indiviually reflected arent as powerful, but cost less upfront and electricity-wise.

LEDs are very expensive, but are very energy efficient, and quite powerful. and most of them time completely customizable in terms of coloring, white/blue balance etc.
as far as i'm concerned the way to go is T5 High Output. metal halides are a powerfull bulb yes, but they lack the surface area that a tube has. you also are not able to get them in actinic, and for an actinic you'd still have to have a fixture fitted with a T5.

with a T5 you can get the same lumens per watt as a MH and you get a much larger area covered less heat and with a 460nm actinic bulb more water penitration, then the pretty in efficiant high heat MH.

the whole watts per gallon method of calculating light has now gone out the window with the new advancments in lighting. when i read the sticky and got to the lighting part i cocked my head and was like why would soemone calculate the amount of light needed for an aquarium with watts, its not even a measurment of light output
__________________

__________________
Gti_Leo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fowlr, light, lighting, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good Ro or RO/DI unit catmel General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 09-24-2008 12:40 AM
Would this be a good RO/DI unit? dheck General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 01-25-2008 12:38 PM
Is this a Good RO Unit? drillsar Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 6 05-23-2006 12:13 AM
Where to get a good RO/DI unit AndyH5512 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 4 07-22-2005 08:48 PM
Is this a good RO unit? BONESTOCK Saltwater Reef Aquaria 7 01-26-2004 03:32 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.