Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-20-2011, 01:58 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 36
Good RO Unit?

I am in the process of setting up a marine setup, hence all the questions

Can anyone suggest a good RO Unit?

and how easy they are to operate.

Thanks Jon
__________________

__________________
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 02:06 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
they are basically plug and play. check the vendor air-water-ice. they'll hook you up with a decent unit.
__________________

__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 02:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 371
I purchased this RO/DI for $100 on ebay. It arrived 2 days ago. I haven't hooked it up yet, as I am putting the finishing touches on my stand and sump. I also still need to get a return pump as well, so the unit is just sitting on my table waiting to be setup. But my LFS recommended these guys from ebay.

link
__________________
tjm80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 02:20 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mr_X's Avatar


 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Fairless Hills, Pa.
Posts: 17,895
Send a message via MSN to mr_X
i bought a couple units from them as well. btw, that taste filter on top is nothing more than another carbon filter. you really don't need it.
__________________
thanks,
Doug
mr_X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 02:49 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Jnam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 757
The taste filter actually adds TDS back to the water so dont use it at all...

Air water ice, Filter guys, and bulk reef supply all have good units at decent prices. with RO you get what you pay for skimp on the filter and you will pay for it in algea blooms.
__________________
~Jason

36 BowFront Reef
LED PoweredPlanted 3G Picotope (Build thread)
Jnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:11 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 36
Thanks for the responses I am looking at the first two on this website.

Whats the difference between the first two and do i need the difference?
RO/DI Systems

Thanks Jon
__________________
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Ridgeland, MS
Posts: 371
I'm no expert, but 0 ppm water is 0 ppm water. If you're wanting to use it for things other than aquarium water you might want to spend a bit more and get a tank, or one that will filter a bit faster. But the link I gave you does RO/DI water and is supposed to give a reading of 0 ppm if tested. That's what you're after.
__________________
tjm80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 05:24 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 36
ok thanks
__________________
JonB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 06:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Jnam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 757
The first one does not include a DI unit. the second has DI but its the horizontal kind which will deplete faster than the third option. WHich is the one I would choose
__________________
~Jason

36 BowFront Reef
LED PoweredPlanted 3G Picotope (Build thread)
Jnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2011, 06:56 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Jnam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Boise ID
Posts: 757
@tjm80 More than likely it will provide 0tds but only for a few months as it stands there and the post GAC filter is useless. I have the same housing as that one as i too purchaced a simalar unit off of ebay, after 6 months I was producing 4-5 TDS water and the tank i had at the time was a 20gallon tank so I had barely made any water before it started to track bad. The main problems with the ebay units are their membranes and Di units. Horizontal DI units suffer from chanelling, where the DI material allows a channel to be created and the water flows through with out being filtered. The membranes have a 3:1 reject rate or worse. and the post RO water still comes out with pretty high TDS readings...

Ebay is perfect as long as you plan on replacing and upgrading the filters withing 60months
__________________

__________________
~Jason

36 BowFront Reef
LED PoweredPlanted 3G Picotope (Build thread)
Jnam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fowlr, ro unit, ro water, sump, unit

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
is this a good ro/di unit? vsnsofadrgn General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 12 01-25-2006 09:57 AM
Is this a good RO unit? revhtree General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 7 02-16-2005 12:35 AM
RO /DI Unit. Is this any good? Sparky Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 08-03-2004 10:16 AM
Is this a good R/O unit? RubixCube Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 02-18-2004 03:07 AM
Will this RO unit be good? skip_16157 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 12 01-27-2004 10:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.