Got it set up

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Landy

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
So I set up my saltwater tank, and I put in the sand then put in the rock and its really hard to stack rock, LoL, I'm new to stacking sw lr so give me a break. But its in there, LoL. Then I put some clear up the water in there, cuz it was in the bag with the sand and I put my filter up. So its cycling now.

That filter says it eliminates ammonia nitrites and nitrate I'm like wow, thats great I might get that filter for my fw cuz that would stop the algae. The guy at the fish store wanted me to get rock and 2 different types of netting and carbon which would cost like 40-50 dollars but this should be just as good cuz wut he said this filter already does. Its a penguin bio-wheel btw.

So any help now. In a week I will get my water checked, then slowly add fish.

Wut kind of light/hood should I get, I want cheap.

Thanks.

I`m afraid it`s going to take longer than a week. I would guess it will be 3-5 weeks. Read our article on cycling and it will tell you when the cycle is over. As far as the lighting what type SW tank are you planning on? Reef, FOWLR or FO.

I have cured water in my tank, and the sand I bought says it gets the tank started real quick and the rock is lr. The guy said a week and it'll be ready.

Wut is FOWLR and FO?

And I want to throw some corals in there but that will be down the road cuz they are expensive.

Is floresent good enough?

First of all there is no such thing as cured water. Whoever this guy is knows little about SW aquaria. There is none to very little nitrifying bacteria in the water. Your sand and LR will have to cycle to get the proper amount of nitrifying bacteria on it. Please for the sake of what goes in your tank please read this article

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/articles/articles/3/1/Cycle-your-salt-tank/Page1.html