Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-19-2005, 01:05 PM   #1
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Got my tank and is setup. Also some questions.

Here are some pics. All I have done is hook up the pump and filter and heater and airpump and light.
I got that wine stand for $25 at Walmart, it looks halfways good (might put some fabric around bottom half so you dont know its a wine thing)
I put this in the corner where our table is so we can watch it while we eat.
There is a plant above it too. I have pics below.

To the Qs...
How should I cycle my tank? The main thing I need to know is how should I get ammonia into it? Can I add some of the chemical ammonia into there or is it not the same thing?



__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 05:00 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Apalachin, NY
Posts: 327
Cycling:
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/showqu...q=2&fldAuto=15

That wine stand is sturdy enough to support the weight of the tank, right?...
__________________

__________________
copi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 05:02 PM   #3
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Yes.... It should.
It used to be on wheels but we took them off. Now it is even better.
It seems pretty sturdy.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 05:07 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Apalachin, NY
Posts: 327
Oh and you can't just cycle a naked tank like that... you need some substrate, or you can cycle with LR... someplace for the good bacteria to live.

What kind of filtration are you going to use?
__________________
copi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 05:11 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 76
Zacdl, Try using the search engine for ammonia fishless cycle. There were several threads on this subject. I do remember you have to use a special ammonia. Don't put any in until you are sure you have the right one. I believe it is ammonia without detergent. Wait at least a day and someone with first hand knowledge will reply. There are some very helpful people here.
__________________
hforney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 05:11 PM   #6
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Well, the filter is already on there you just cant see it well. Its bio/mech/chem

I am also supposed to be getting a protein skimmer in the mail.

I ordered a mag float, sand, thermometer, and a testkit (not the dip strips) today. They said it should be here next week.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 05:15 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Apalachin, NY
Posts: 327
I'd say once the sand is in & the filter is running you can start the fishless cycle as described in the article I referenced above. Don't run the skimmer during the cycle, & be sure to test regularly so you can keep tabs on the progression.
__________________
copi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 05:24 PM   #8
zacdl
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Why not run the skimmer?

When I asked about something else earlier on a differant thread (cant remember when or what) they said I should run it during the cycle.

Now you guys are contradicting yourselves.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2005, 05:30 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Apalachin, NY
Posts: 327
I'm sure someone else will chime in on this, and I know this is a matter of differing opinion, however my understanding is this: since you're trying to build up ammonia in order to encourage the growth of bacteria, you wouldn't want to remove proteins / etc which will eventually degrade into ammonia.

If you remove the bacteria's "food" by skimming, they have less to eat & will not grow as fast.

Others will say that running the skimmer does not slow down the cycle, but that's very counterintuitive to me.
__________________

__________________
copi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
setup, tan

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New to AA: Couple of questions on tank setup. slickdc5 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 09-30-2009 05:09 PM
A couple questions on a new tank setup and PH Daisy Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 30 03-24-2009 03:32 PM
New tank setup questions kkona21599 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 12-07-2008 03:48 AM
new tank setup and transfer questions kaz Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 04-17-2006 09:08 PM
QT/Hospital Tank Setup Questions Bhunsucker Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 3 07-24-2005 09:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.