Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Saltwater and Reef > Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-04-2008, 04:19 PM   #21
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by roka64 View Post
I don't have the box in front of me but I don't believe purigen will absorb phosphates, try phosban for the phosphate....
Yup... purigen won't do anything about phosphates. Another minor point... Purigen isn't advertised to get rid of ammonia/nitrites/nitrates DIRECTLY. It's advertised to remove the stuff that creates ammonia/nitrites/nitrates, which it seems to do quite well. But don't expect it to suck up your existing nitrates, but it will keep things from getting worse.
__________________

__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 06:30 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
kristy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lubbock,Tx
Posts: 23
I took a sample to the LFS all readings are correct. But the couldnt test Ca???? I dont know I going to try another water change today. I have took out my filter and running with out it. The LSF suggested that maybe my live sand could be producing alot of Ca and I dont have enough in my tank to help absorb it I dont know. Can only 1 test go bad and the rest be okay???
__________________

__________________
You only LIVE once, Make it COUNT!
kristy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 06:37 PM   #23
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Sand does not produce Ca in any measurable amounts. Never heard of a LFS that couldn't test for Ca. That's pretty basic stuff. Too bad they're the only one in town!

Yes... one test kit can go bad and the others still be OK. Again... what brand test kit are you using? Also again... what is the specific gravity/salinity of your tank water? Are you measuring the specific gravity with a hydrometer or a refractometer?
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2008, 10:20 PM   #24
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
kristy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Lubbock,Tx
Posts: 23
Its a API reef test kit. my salinity is 1.022 with a hydrometer.
__________________
You only LIVE once, Make it COUNT!
kristy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 04:32 PM   #25
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: not here anymore
Posts: 5,338
Hmm. I guess I don't really understand what's happening either. I use the API calcium test also, and it's pretty reliable from my experience. And I don't think you could mess it up to the extent that you'd get readings in the 500s when it's really in the 300s.

I was asking about salinity because I was wondering if you were running a really high SG, and making the Ca levels high that way. But at 1.022, that wouldn't be the case. Hydrometers can be innaccurate... but probably only off by +/- .005 or so at most.
__________________
Kurt_Nelson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2008, 10:25 AM   #26
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana USA
Posts: 2,694
Are you testing the PO4 on the tank water or the RO water? I would test the RO water and also get a TDS reading of the RO water. Are your bulbs new? I know you said the tank has been up a few months but was this a new setup or a used one. I would probably change the bulbs regardless.

Cut back on feeding as well. I don't think phytoplex is all that good really. Some of these additives can fuel algae.

Ca can't be that high either. With a reading of 920 you would see Ca flake in the water. Would like like snow. IO won't read that high anyway. Buy a salifert Ca & alk test kit. These don't cost much more and are more accurate.

Struggles in the hobby can be very frustrating. We have all been there to some degree. Keep plugging away!
__________________

__________________
*180 gal Display, 100 gal basement sump, 33 gal refugium, 3x250 MH, 2x160 VHO actinics, zoos, some softies, LPS & lots of acros and other SPS.
*100 gal prop tank plumbed into main system w/ 2x96 PC lights and 1x150 MH,
ellisz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slime

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Green Slime!! tuwhada Saltwater Fish Only & FOWLR 7 08-01-2006 11:21 AM
WHAT DO I DO ABOUT GREEN SLIME? MEGNSHANE Saltwater Reef Aquaria 6 07-31-2006 11:46 AM
green slime lziarek Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 08-14-2005 09:21 PM
Green Slime StickyTuba Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 07-06-2005 10:14 PM
Green Slime gardnern Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 07-18-2004 12:31 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.