Greetings dudes Newbie Here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cturtlesrck

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi ya'll . I am new here was sent here from another site by reefraff , looks like I'll get a lot of help here ..I have not yet gottne started I have only purchased the tank itself , a glass one , a 50 Gal I have the receipt should I take it back .. To big ,To small?? Ok that is the first question ... trust me many many more to come ...
I have read lots of books but I think this is the best way to get the answers... a book can't talk back ...
Thanks ahead of time

the perfect size for the begginer would be a 55 G, so I think you picked just fine. just remember, No undergravel filter, and use sand instead of crushed coral. I'll let others chime in.

a 50 Gal I have the receipt should I take it back .. To big ,To small??

For a first SW aquarium...it sounds just about right. I think you'll soon find though that you'll want a larger tank :wink: What type of tank are you looking to set up?

some of us are "dudettes" tho ;)

I personally recommend starting with the biggest tank that you
can afford to set up. With saltwater, you do not have the room that
you would in a freshwater tank for fish etc, if you go with liverock. It
will take up alot of your space and you wont have alot of room for
fish.

With regards to fish, I agree with Hara. Think of the "must have " fish. If it a larger species (like a tang) you will need a bigger tank. If you want to keep smaller fish, then you are fine. Plan out what you would like to keep, then plan your system aound that. You are lucky, because you have not bought much yet. I think the planning is the fun part!

Im on my first saltwater tank.Its a 55 gal and ive had it for about a year and a half.Already wishing i had a bigger one but this will have to do for now.I enjoy the heck out of it